[v6,00/10] DSB enablement.
mbox series

Message ID 20190911191133.23383-1-animesh.manna@intel.com
Headers show
Series
  • DSB enablement.
Related show

Message

Animesh Manna Sept. 11, 2019, 7:11 p.m. UTC
Display State Buffer (DSB) is hardware capability which allows driver
to batch submit HW programming.

As part of initial enablement common api created which currently used
to program gamma lut proramming.

Going forwad DSB support can be added for HDR and flip related operation.

HSDES: 1209978241
BSpec: 32020

v1: Initial version.

v2: Move intel_dsb files under display folder and fixed an issue.

v3: As per review comments from Chris and Jani,
- removed some unwanted code. (Chris)
- Used i915_gem_object_create_internal instead of _shmem. (Chris)
- cmd_buf_tail removed and can be derived through vma object. (Chris)
- Simplified and optimized code few places. (Chris)
- Called dsb-api directly in callsites instead going via I915_WRITE. (Jani)

v4: Addressed review commnets from Shashank.

v5: Addressed review commnets from Shashank and Jani.

v6: Addressed review commnets from Shashank.

Cc: Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Imre Deak <imre.deak@intel.com>
Cc: Michel Thierry <michel.thierry@intel.com>
Cc: Uma Shankar <uma.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: Shashank Sharma <shashank.sharma@intel.com>
Cc: Swati Sharma <swati2.sharma@intel.com>
Cc: Lucas De Marchi <lucas.demarchi@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Animesh Manna <animesh.manna@intel.com>

Animesh Manna (10):
  drm/i915/dsb: feature flag added for display state buffer.
  drm/i915/dsb: DSB context creation.
  drm/i915/dsb: single register write function for DSB.
  drm/i915/dsb: Indexed register write function for DSB.
  drm/i915/dsb: Check DSB engine status.
  drm/i915/dsb: functions to enable/disable DSB engine.
  drm/i915/dsb: function to trigger workload execution of DSB.
  drm/i915/dsb: Enable gamma lut programming using DSB.
  drm/i915/dsb: Enable DSB for gen12.
  drm/i915/dsb: Documentation for DSB.

 Documentation/gpu/i915.rst                    |   9 +
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/Makefile                 |   1 +
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/display/intel_color.c    |  57 +--
 .../drm/i915/display/intel_display_types.h    |   3 +
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/display/intel_dsb.c      | 324 ++++++++++++++++++
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/display/intel_dsb.h      |  48 +++
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_drv.h               |   3 +
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_pci.c               |   3 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_reg.h               |  10 +
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_device_info.h      |   1 +
 10 files changed, 436 insertions(+), 23 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/display/intel_dsb.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/display/intel_dsb.h