[v4,0/6] driver core: Try to improve and cleanup driver_deferred_probe_check_state()
mbox series

Message ID 20200220050440.45878-1-john.stultz@linaro.org
Headers show
Series
  • driver core: Try to improve and cleanup driver_deferred_probe_check_state()
Related show

Message

John Stultz Feb. 20, 2020, 5:04 a.m. UTC
This series tries to improve and cleanup the
driver_deferred_probe_check_state() code in the driver core.

This is most important for being able to support modules
dependencies which may be loaded by userland, far after
late_initcall is done. For instance, this series allows
us to use successfully various clk drivers as modules on
the db845c board. And without it, those drivers have to
be statically built in to work.

The first patch (or two) is really the most critical for me,
but as I was working to understand the code (and with some
prodding), it seemed a further cleanup was in order.

If folks have concerns about the tail end of the patch set, I'm
fine to defer that. The main issue for me is the inability to
load module dependencies after init starts. 

New in v4:
* Split earlier version of the patches apart
* Defaulting deferred_probe_timeout to 30 seconds if modules
  are enabled.
* Deeper cleanup on driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue()

Feedback would be greatly appreciated!

thanks
-john

Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>
Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org

John Stultz (6):
  driver core: Fix driver_deferred_probe_check_state() logic
  driver core: Set deferred_probe_timeout to a longer default if
    CONFIG_MODULES is set
  pinctrl: Remove use of driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue()
  driver core: Remove driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue()
  driver core: Rename deferred_probe_timeout and make it global
  regulator: Use driver_deferred_probe_timeout for
    regulator_init_complete_work

 drivers/base/dd.c             | 78 ++++++++++++-----------------------
 drivers/pinctrl/devicetree.c  |  9 ++--
 drivers/regulator/core.c      | 25 ++++++-----
 include/linux/device/driver.h |  2 +-
 4 files changed, 47 insertions(+), 67 deletions(-)

Comments

Rafael J. Wysocki Feb. 20, 2020, 10:15 a.m. UTC | #1
On Thu, Feb 20, 2020 at 6:04 AM John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> wrote:
>
> This series tries to improve and cleanup the
> driver_deferred_probe_check_state() code in the driver core.

"Do. Or do not. There is no try."
 - Master Yoda