[RFC,v3,1/2] fuse: introduce new fs_type flag FS_IMA_NO_CACHE
diff mbox

Message ID 20180122162452.8756-2-alban@kinvolk.io
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

Alban Crequy Jan. 22, 2018, 4:24 p.m. UTC
From: Alban Crequy <alban@kinvolk.io>

This new fs_type flag FS_IMA_NO_CACHE means files should be re-measured,
re-appraised and re-audited each time. Cached integrity results should
not be used.

It is useful in FUSE because the userspace FUSE process can change the
underlying files at any time without notifying the kernel.

Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Miklos Szeredi <miklos@szeredi.hu>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Dmitry Kasatkin <dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com>
Cc: James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com>
Cc: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>
Cc: Seth Forshee <seth.forshee@canonical.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Tested-by: Dongsu Park <dongsu@kinvolk.io>
Signed-off-by: Alban Crequy <alban@kinvolk.io>
---
 fs/fuse/inode.c    | 2 +-
 include/linux/fs.h | 1 +
 2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch
diff mbox

diff --git a/fs/fuse/inode.c b/fs/fuse/inode.c
index 624f18bbfd2b..0a9e516461d5 100644
--- a/fs/fuse/inode.c
+++ b/fs/fuse/inode.c
@@ -1205,7 +1205,7 @@  static void fuse_kill_sb_anon(struct super_block *sb)
 static struct file_system_type fuse_fs_type = {
 	.owner		= THIS_MODULE,
 	.name		= "fuse",
-	.fs_flags	= FS_HAS_SUBTYPE,
+	.fs_flags	= FS_HAS_SUBTYPE | FS_IMA_NO_CACHE,
 	.mount		= fuse_mount,
 	.kill_sb	= fuse_kill_sb_anon,
 };
diff --git a/include/linux/fs.h b/include/linux/fs.h
index 511fbaabf624..ced841ba6701 100644
--- a/include/linux/fs.h
+++ b/include/linux/fs.h
@@ -2075,6 +2075,7 @@  struct file_system_type {
 #define FS_BINARY_MOUNTDATA	2
 #define FS_HAS_SUBTYPE		4
 #define FS_USERNS_MOUNT		8	/* Can be mounted by userns root */
+#define FS_IMA_NO_CACHE		16	/* Force IMA to re-measure, re-appraise, re-audit files */
 #define FS_RENAME_DOES_D_MOVE	32768	/* FS will handle d_move() during rename() internally. */
 	struct dentry *(*mount) (struct file_system_type *, int,
 		       const char *, void *);