[2/3] mm/hmm: fix ZONE_DEVICE anon page mapping reuse
diff mbox series

Message ID 20190719190649.30096-3-rcampbell@nvidia.com
State New
Headers show
Series
  • mm/hmm: fixes for device private page migration
Related show

Commit Message

Ralph Campbell July 19, 2019, 7:06 p.m. UTC
When a ZONE_DEVICE private page is freed, the page->mapping field can be
set. If this page is reused as an anonymous page, the previous value can
prevent the page from being inserted into the CPU's anon rmap table.
For example, when migrating a pte_none() page to device memory:
  migrate_vma(ops, vma, start, end, src, dst, private)
    migrate_vma_collect()
      src[] = MIGRATE_PFN_MIGRATE
    migrate_vma_prepare()
      /* no page to lock or isolate so OK */
    migrate_vma_unmap()
      /* no page to unmap so OK */
    ops->alloc_and_copy()
      /* driver allocates ZONE_DEVICE page for dst[] */
    migrate_vma_pages()
      migrate_vma_insert_page()
        page_add_new_anon_rmap()
          __page_set_anon_rmap()
            /* This check sees the page's stale mapping field */
            if (PageAnon(page))
              return
            /* page->mapping is not updated */

The result is that the migration appears to succeed but a subsequent CPU
fault will be unable to migrate the page back to system memory or worse.

Clear the page->mapping field when freeing the ZONE_DEVICE page so stale
pointer data doesn't affect future page use.

Fixes: b7a523109fb5c9d2d6dd ("mm: don't clear ->mapping in hmm_devmem_free")
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Cc: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: "Jérôme Glisse" <jglisse@redhat.com>
---
 kernel/memremap.c | 4 ++++
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/kernel/memremap.c b/kernel/memremap.c
index bea6f887adad..238ae5d0ae8a 100644
--- a/kernel/memremap.c
+++ b/kernel/memremap.c
@@ -408,6 +408,10 @@  void __put_devmap_managed_page(struct page *page)
 
 		mem_cgroup_uncharge(page);
 
+		/* Clear anonymous page mapping to prevent stale pointers */
+		if (is_device_private_page(page))
+			page->mapping = NULL;
+
 		page->pgmap->ops->page_free(page);
 	} else if (!count)
 		__put_page(page);