[5.3,065/112] efi/tpm: Only set efi_tpm_final_log_size after successful event log parsing
diff mbox series

Message ID 20191016214901.944210386@linuxfoundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #188875
Related show

Commit Message

Greg Kroah-Hartman Oct. 16, 2019, 9:50 p.m. UTC
From: Jerry Snitselaar <jsnitsel@redhat.com>

commit e658c82be5561412c5e83b5e74e9da4830593f3e upstream.

If __calc_tpm2_event_size() fails to parse an event it will return 0,
resulting tpm2_calc_event_log_size() returning -1. Currently there is
no check of this return value, and 'efi_tpm_final_log_size' can end up
being set to this negative value resulting in a crash like this one:

  BUG: unable to handle page fault for address: ffffbc8fc00866ad
  #PF: supervisor read access in kernel mode
  #PF: error_code(0x0000) - not-present page

  RIP: 0010:memcpy_erms+0x6/0x10
  Call Trace:
   tpm_read_log_efi()
   tpm_bios_log_setup()
   tpm_chip_register()
   tpm_tis_core_init.cold.9+0x28c/0x466
   tpm_tis_plat_probe()
   platform_drv_probe()
   ...

Also __calc_tpm2_event_size() returns a size of 0 when it fails
to parse an event, so update function documentation to reflect this.

The root cause of the issue that caused the failure of event parsing
in this case is resolved by Peter Jone's patchset dealing with large
event logs where crossing over a page boundary causes the page with
the event count to be unmapped.

Signed-off-by: Jerry Snitselaar <jsnitsel@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Ben Dooks <ben.dooks@codethink.co.uk>
Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Cc: Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Lukas Wunner <lukas@wunner.de>
Cc: Lyude Paul <lyude@redhat.com>
Cc: Matthew Garrett <mjg59@google.com>
Cc: Octavian Purdila <octavian.purdila@intel.com>
Cc: Peter Jones <pjones@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Scott Talbert <swt@techie.net>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: c46f3405692de ("tpm: Reserve the TPM final events table")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191002165904.8819-6-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
 drivers/firmware/efi/tpm.c   |    9 ++++++++-
 include/linux/tpm_eventlog.h |    2 +-
 2 files changed, 9 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/drivers/firmware/efi/tpm.c
+++ b/drivers/firmware/efi/tpm.c
@@ -85,11 +85,18 @@  int __init efi_tpm_eventlog_init(void)
 						    final_tbl->nr_events,
 						    log_tbl->log);
 	}
+
+	if (tbl_size < 0) {
+		pr_err(FW_BUG "Failed to parse event in TPM Final Events Log\n");
+		goto out_calc;
+	}
+
 	memblock_reserve((unsigned long)final_tbl,
 			 tbl_size + sizeof(*final_tbl));
-	early_memunmap(final_tbl, sizeof(*final_tbl));
 	efi_tpm_final_log_size = tbl_size;
 
+out_calc:
+	early_memunmap(final_tbl, sizeof(*final_tbl));
 out:
 	early_memunmap(log_tbl, sizeof(*log_tbl));
 	return ret;
--- a/include/linux/tpm_eventlog.h
+++ b/include/linux/tpm_eventlog.h
@@ -152,7 +152,7 @@  struct tcg_algorithm_info {
  * total. Once we've done this we know the offset of the data length field,
  * and can calculate the total size of the event.
  *
- * Return: size of the event on success, <0 on failure
+ * Return: size of the event on success, 0 on failure
  */
 
 static inline int __calc_tpm2_event_size(struct tcg_pcr_event2_head *event,