[v4,01/12] add helpers for kelvin to/from Celsius conversion
diff mbox series

Message ID 1576386975-7941-2-git-send-email-akinobu.mita@gmail.com
State Mainlined, archived
Delegated to: Zhang Rui
Headers show
Series
  • add header file for kelvin to/from Celsius conversion helpers
Related show

Commit Message

Akinobu Mita Dec. 15, 2019, 5:16 a.m. UTC
There are several helper macros to convert kelvin to/from Celsius in
<linux/thermal.h> for thermal drivers.  These are useful for any other
drivers or subsystems, but it's odd to include <linux/thermal.h> just for
the helpers.

This adds a new <linux/units.h> that provides the equivalent inline
functions for any drivers or subsystems.  It is intended to replace the
helpers in <linux/thermal.h>.

Cc: Sujith Thomas <sujith.thomas@intel.com>
Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andy@infradead.org>
Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Cc: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@verdurent.com>
Cc: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.com>
Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
Cc: Keith Busch <kbusch@kernel.org>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Sagi Grimberg <sagi@grimberg.me>
Cc: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@intel.com>
Cc: Emmanuel Grumbach <emmanuel.grumbach@intel.com>
Cc: Luca Coelho <luciano.coelho@intel.com>
Cc: Intel Linux Wireless <linuxwifi@intel.com>
Cc: Jonathan Cameron <jic23@kernel.org>
Cc: Hartmut Knaack <knaack.h@gmx.de>
Cc: Lars-Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>
Cc: Peter Meerwald-Stadler <pmeerw@pmeerw.net>
Reviewed-by: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
---
* v4
- add Reviewed-by tag

 include/linux/units.h | 84 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 84 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 include/linux/units.h

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/include/linux/units.h b/include/linux/units.h
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..aaf7163
--- /dev/null
+++ b/include/linux/units.h
@@ -0,0 +1,84 @@ 
+/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 */
+#ifndef _LINUX_UNITS_H
+#define _LINUX_UNITS_H
+
+#include <linux/kernel.h>
+
+#define ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS -273150
+
+static inline long milli_kelvin_to_millicelsius(long t)
+{
+	return t + ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS;
+}
+
+static inline long millicelsius_to_milli_kelvin(long t)
+{
+	return t - ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS;
+}
+
+#define MILLIDEGREE_PER_DEGREE 1000
+#define MILLIDEGREE_PER_DECIDEGREE 100
+
+static inline long kelvin_to_millicelsius(long t)
+{
+	return milli_kelvin_to_millicelsius(t * MILLIDEGREE_PER_DEGREE);
+}
+
+static inline long millicelsius_to_kelvin(long t)
+{
+	t = millicelsius_to_milli_kelvin(t);
+
+	return DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(t, MILLIDEGREE_PER_DEGREE);
+}
+
+static inline long deci_kelvin_to_celsius(long t)
+{
+	t = milli_kelvin_to_millicelsius(t * MILLIDEGREE_PER_DECIDEGREE);
+
+	return DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(t, MILLIDEGREE_PER_DEGREE);
+}
+
+static inline long celsius_to_deci_kelvin(long t)
+{
+	t = millicelsius_to_milli_kelvin(t * MILLIDEGREE_PER_DEGREE);
+
+	return DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(t, MILLIDEGREE_PER_DECIDEGREE);
+}
+
+/**
+ * deci_kelvin_to_millicelsius_with_offset - convert Kelvin to Celsius
+ * @t: temperature value in decidegrees Kelvin
+ * @offset: difference between Kelvin and Celsius in millidegrees
+ *
+ * Return: temperature value in millidegrees Celsius
+ */
+static inline long deci_kelvin_to_millicelsius_with_offset(long t, long offset)
+{
+	return t * MILLIDEGREE_PER_DECIDEGREE - offset;
+}
+
+static inline long deci_kelvin_to_millicelsius(long t)
+{
+	return milli_kelvin_to_millicelsius(t * MILLIDEGREE_PER_DECIDEGREE);
+}
+
+static inline long millicelsius_to_deci_kelvin(long t)
+{
+	t = millicelsius_to_milli_kelvin(t);
+
+	return DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(t, MILLIDEGREE_PER_DECIDEGREE);
+}
+
+static inline long kelvin_to_celsius(long t)
+{
+	return t + DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS,
+				     MILLIDEGREE_PER_DEGREE);
+}
+
+static inline long celsius_to_kelvin(long t)
+{
+	return t - DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS,
+				     MILLIDEGREE_PER_DEGREE);
+}
+
+#endif /* _LINUX_UNITS_H */