[for,4.19-stable,v2,15/24] drivers/base/memory: pass a block_id to init_memory_block()
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200121180150.37454-16-david@redhat.com
State New
Headers show
Series
  • mm/memory_hotplug: backport of pending stable fixes
Related show

Commit Message

David Hildenbrand Jan. 21, 2020, 6:01 p.m. UTC
commit 1811582587c43bdf13d690d83345610d4df433bb  upstream.

We'll rework hotplug_memory_register() shortly, so it no longer consumes
pass a section.

[cai@lca.pw: fix a compilation warning]
  Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1559320186-28337-1-git-send-email-cai@lca.pw
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190527111152.16324-6-david@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
Cc: Andrew Banman <andrew.banman@hpe.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arun KS <arunks@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: "mike.travis@hpe.com" <mike.travis@hpe.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
---
 drivers/base/memory.c | 27 +++++++++++----------------
 1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 16 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/drivers/base/memory.c b/drivers/base/memory.c
index 9a5f81dc32c5..f9818d75ac43 100644
--- a/drivers/base/memory.c
+++ b/drivers/base/memory.c
@@ -660,21 +660,18 @@  int register_memory(struct memory_block *memory)
 	return ret;
 }
 
-static int init_memory_block(struct memory_block **memory,
-			     struct mem_section *section, unsigned long state)
+static int init_memory_block(struct memory_block **memory, int block_id,
+			     unsigned long state)
 {
 	struct memory_block *mem;
 	unsigned long start_pfn;
-	int scn_nr;
 	int ret = 0;
 
 	mem = kzalloc(sizeof(*mem), GFP_KERNEL);
 	if (!mem)
 		return -ENOMEM;
 
-	scn_nr = __section_nr(section);
-	mem->start_section_nr =
-			base_memory_block_id(scn_nr) * sections_per_block;
+	mem->start_section_nr = block_id * sections_per_block;
 	mem->end_section_nr = mem->start_section_nr + sections_per_block - 1;
 	mem->state = state;
 	start_pfn = section_nr_to_pfn(mem->start_section_nr);
@@ -689,21 +686,18 @@  static int init_memory_block(struct memory_block **memory,
 static int add_memory_block(int base_section_nr)
 {
 	struct memory_block *mem;
-	int i, ret, section_count = 0, section_nr;
+	int i, ret, section_count = 0;
 
 	for (i = base_section_nr;
 	     i < base_section_nr + sections_per_block;
-	     i++) {
-		if (!present_section_nr(i))
-			continue;
-		if (section_count == 0)
-			section_nr = i;
-		section_count++;
-	}
+	     i++)
+		if (present_section_nr(i))
+			section_count++;
 
 	if (section_count == 0)
 		return 0;
-	ret = init_memory_block(&mem, __nr_to_section(section_nr), MEM_ONLINE);
+	ret = init_memory_block(&mem, base_memory_block_id(base_section_nr),
+				MEM_ONLINE);
 	if (ret)
 		return ret;
 	mem->section_count = section_count;
@@ -716,6 +710,7 @@  static int add_memory_block(int base_section_nr)
  */
 int hotplug_memory_register(int nid, struct mem_section *section)
 {
+	int block_id = base_memory_block_id(__section_nr(section));
 	int ret = 0;
 	struct memory_block *mem;
 
@@ -726,7 +721,7 @@  int hotplug_memory_register(int nid, struct mem_section *section)
 		mem->section_count++;
 		put_device(&mem->dev);
 	} else {
-		ret = init_memory_block(&mem, section, MEM_OFFLINE);
+		ret = init_memory_block(&mem, block_id, MEM_OFFLINE);
 		if (ret)
 			goto out;
 		mem->section_count++;