[for,4.19-stable,v2,18/24] mm/memory_hotplug: make unregister_memory_block_under_nodes() never fail
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200121180150.37454-19-david@redhat.com
State New
Headers show
  • mm/memory_hotplug: backport of pending stable fixes
Related show

Commit Message

David Hildenbrand Jan. 21, 2020, 6:01 p.m. UTC
commit a31b264c2b415b29660da0bc2ba291a98629ce51 upstream.

We really don't want anything during memory hotunplug to fail.  We
always pass a valid memory block device, that check can go.  Avoid
allocating memory and eventually failing.  As we are always called under
lock, we can use a static piece of memory.  This avoids having to put
the structure onto the stack, having to guess about the stack size of

Patch inspired by a patch from Oscar Salvador.

In the future, there might be no need to iterate over nodes at all.
mem->nid should tell us exactly what to remove.  Memory block devices
with mixed nodes (added during boot) should properly fenced off and
never removed.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190527111152.16324-11-david@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>
Cc: Andrew Banman <andrew.banman@hpe.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arun KS <arunks@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: "mike.travis@hpe.com" <mike.travis@hpe.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
 drivers/base/node.c  | 18 +++++-------------
 include/linux/node.h |  5 ++---
 2 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 16 deletions(-)

diff mbox series

diff --git a/drivers/base/node.c b/drivers/base/node.c
index 1211794d658c..bdff237f4167 100644
--- a/drivers/base/node.c
+++ b/drivers/base/node.c
@@ -455,20 +455,14 @@  int register_mem_sect_under_node(struct memory_block *mem_blk, void *arg)
  * Unregister memory block device under all nodes that it spans.
+ * Has to be called with mem_sysfs_mutex held (due to unlinked_nodes).
-int unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk)
+void unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk)
-	NODEMASK_ALLOC(nodemask_t, unlinked_nodes, GFP_KERNEL);
 	unsigned long pfn, sect_start_pfn, sect_end_pfn;
+	static nodemask_t unlinked_nodes;
-	if (!mem_blk) {
-		NODEMASK_FREE(unlinked_nodes);
-		return -EFAULT;
-	}
-	if (!unlinked_nodes)
-		return -ENOMEM;
-	nodes_clear(*unlinked_nodes);
+	nodes_clear(unlinked_nodes);
 	sect_start_pfn = section_nr_to_pfn(mem_blk->start_section_nr);
 	sect_end_pfn = section_nr_to_pfn(mem_blk->end_section_nr);
 	for (pfn = sect_start_pfn; pfn <= sect_end_pfn; pfn++) {
@@ -479,15 +473,13 @@  int unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk)
 		if (!node_online(nid))
-		if (node_test_and_set(nid, *unlinked_nodes))
+		if (node_test_and_set(nid, unlinked_nodes))
-	NODEMASK_FREE(unlinked_nodes);
-	return 0;
 int link_mem_sections(int nid, unsigned long start_pfn, unsigned long end_pfn)
diff --git a/include/linux/node.h b/include/linux/node.h
index 9a6db437f2d1..708939bae9aa 100644
--- a/include/linux/node.h
+++ b/include/linux/node.h
@@ -72,7 +72,7 @@  extern int register_cpu_under_node(unsigned int cpu, unsigned int nid);
 extern int unregister_cpu_under_node(unsigned int cpu, unsigned int nid);
 extern int register_mem_sect_under_node(struct memory_block *mem_blk,
 						void *arg);
-extern int unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk);
+extern void unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk);
 extern void register_hugetlbfs_with_node(node_registration_func_t doregister,
@@ -104,9 +104,8 @@  static inline int register_mem_sect_under_node(struct memory_block *mem_blk,
 	return 0;
-static inline int unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk)
+static inline void unregister_memory_block_under_nodes(struct memory_block *mem_blk)
-	return 0;
 static inline void register_hugetlbfs_with_node(node_registration_func_t reg,