[for,4.19-stable,v2,19/24] mm/memory_hotplug: remove "zone" parameter from sparse_remove_one_section
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200121180150.37454-20-david@redhat.com
State New
Headers show
Series
  • mm/memory_hotplug: backport of pending stable fixes
Related show

Commit Message

David Hildenbrand Jan. 21, 2020, 6:01 p.m. UTC
commit b9bf8d342d9b443c0d19aa57883d8ddb38d965de upstream.

The parameter is unused, so let's drop it.  Memory removal paths should
never care about zones.  This is the job of memory offlining and will
require more refactorings.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190527111152.16324-12-david@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Alex Deucher <alexander.deucher@amd.com>
Cc: Andrew Banman <andrew.banman@hpe.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Arun KS <arunks@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Chintan Pandya <cpandya@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@gmail.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: "mike.travis@hpe.com" <mike.travis@hpe.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
---
 include/linux/memory_hotplug.h | 2 +-
 mm/memory_hotplug.c            | 2 +-
 mm/sparse.c                    | 4 ++--
 3 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h b/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h
index 5ac58325e8fc..26bda048f8a7 100644
--- a/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h
+++ b/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h
@@ -335,7 +335,7 @@  extern int offline_pages(unsigned long start_pfn, unsigned long nr_pages);
 extern bool is_memblock_offlined(struct memory_block *mem);
 extern int sparse_add_one_section(int nid, unsigned long start_pfn,
 				  struct vmem_altmap *altmap);
-extern void sparse_remove_one_section(struct zone *zone, struct mem_section *ms,
+extern void sparse_remove_one_section(struct mem_section *ms,
 		unsigned long map_offset, struct vmem_altmap *altmap);
 extern struct page *sparse_decode_mem_map(unsigned long coded_mem_map,
 					  unsigned long pnum);
diff --git a/mm/memory_hotplug.c b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
index 7a1c9fbf9f41..74cfa2fbe88e 100644
--- a/mm/memory_hotplug.c
+++ b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
@@ -485,7 +485,7 @@  static void __remove_section(struct zone *zone, struct mem_section *ms,
 	start_pfn = section_nr_to_pfn((unsigned long)scn_nr);
 	__remove_zone(zone, start_pfn);
 
-	sparse_remove_one_section(zone, ms, map_offset, altmap);
+	sparse_remove_one_section(ms, map_offset, altmap);
 }
 
 /**
diff --git a/mm/sparse.c b/mm/sparse.c
index 6f624ce9252e..3b24ba903d9e 100644
--- a/mm/sparse.c
+++ b/mm/sparse.c
@@ -757,8 +757,8 @@  static void free_section_usemap(struct page *memmap, unsigned long *usemap,
 		free_map_bootmem(memmap);
 }
 
-void sparse_remove_one_section(struct zone *zone, struct mem_section *ms,
-		unsigned long map_offset, struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
+void sparse_remove_one_section(struct mem_section *ms, unsigned long map_offset,
+			       struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
 {
 	struct page *memmap = NULL;
 	unsigned long *usemap = NULL;