[v4,3/6] pinctrl: Remove use of driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue()
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200220050440.45878-4-john.stultz@linaro.org
State Not Applicable, archived
Headers show
Series
  • driver core: Try to improve and cleanup driver_deferred_probe_check_state()
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz Feb. 20, 2020, 5:04 a.m. UTC
With the earlier sanity fixes to
driver_deferred_probe_check_state() it should be usable for the
pinctrl logic here.

So tweak the logic to use driver_deferred_probe_check_state()
instead of driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue()

Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>
Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Change-Id: If72682e0a7641b33edf56f188fc067c68bbc571e
---
 drivers/pinctrl/devicetree.c | 9 +++++----
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

Comments

Linus Walleij Feb. 21, 2020, 3:21 p.m. UTC | #1
On Thu, Feb 20, 2020 at 6:05 AM John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> wrote:

> With the earlier sanity fixes to
> driver_deferred_probe_check_state() it should be usable for the
> pinctrl logic here.
>
> So tweak the logic to use driver_deferred_probe_check_state()
> instead of driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue()
>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
> Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>
> Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
> Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
> Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
> Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
> Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
> Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
> Change-Id: If72682e0a7641b33edf56f188fc067c68bbc571e

I sure trust that you know what you're doing here.
Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>

I assume you will merge this through device core?

Yours,
Linus Walleij
John Stultz Feb. 21, 2020, 5:19 p.m. UTC | #2
On Fri, Feb 21, 2020 at 7:22 AM Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org> wrote:
> On Thu, Feb 20, 2020 at 6:05 AM John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> wrote:
>
> > With the earlier sanity fixes to
> > driver_deferred_probe_check_state() it should be usable for the
> > pinctrl logic here.
> >
> > So tweak the logic to use driver_deferred_probe_check_state()
> > instead of driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue()
> >
> > Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
> > Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
> > Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>
> > Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
> > Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
> > Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
> > Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
> > Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
> > Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
> > Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
> > Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
> > Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> > Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
> > Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
> > Change-Id: If72682e0a7641b33edf56f188fc067c68bbc571e
>
> I sure trust that you know what you're doing here.

Classic mistake. :)

> Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
>
> I assume you will merge this through device core?

I guess? I'm going to resend it again as I think its a reasonable
cleanup, but the urgent need for it from me may be solved by
of_devlink Saravana's patch instead.

thanks
-john

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/drivers/pinctrl/devicetree.c b/drivers/pinctrl/devicetree.c
index 9357f7c46cf3..1ed20ac2243f 100644
--- a/drivers/pinctrl/devicetree.c
+++ b/drivers/pinctrl/devicetree.c
@@ -127,11 +127,12 @@  static int dt_to_map_one_config(struct pinctrl *p,
 		np_pctldev = of_get_next_parent(np_pctldev);
 		if (!np_pctldev || of_node_is_root(np_pctldev)) {
 			of_node_put(np_pctldev);
+			ret = driver_deferred_probe_check_state(p->dev);
 			/* keep deferring if modules are enabled unless we've timed out */
-			if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_MODULES) && !allow_default)
-				return driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue(p->dev);
-
-			return driver_deferred_probe_check_state(p->dev);
+			if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_MODULES) && !allow_default &&
+			    (ret == -ENODEV))
+				ret = -EPROBE_DEFER;
+			return ret;
 		}
 		/* If we're creating a hog we can use the passed pctldev */
 		if (hog_pctldev && (np_pctldev == p->dev->of_node)) {