[v2,3/3] dt-bindings: pmem-region: Document memory-region
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200224020815.139570-3-adelva@google.com
State Superseded
Headers show
Series
  • [v2,1/3] libnvdimm/of_pmem: factor out region registration
Related show

Commit Message

Alistair Delva Feb. 24, 2020, 2:08 a.m. UTC
From: Kenny Root <kroot@google.com>

From: Kenny Root <kroot@google.com>

Add documentation and example for memory-region in pmem.

Signed-off-by: Kenny Root <kroot@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Alistair Delva <adelva@google.com>
Cc: "Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org
Cc: kernel-team@android.com
---
 .../devicetree/bindings/pmem/pmem-region.txt  | 29 +++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 29 insertions(+)

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pmem/pmem-region.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pmem/pmem-region.txt
index 5cfa4f016a00..0ec87bd034e0 100644
--- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pmem/pmem-region.txt
+++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/pmem/pmem-region.txt
@@ -29,6 +29,18 @@  Required properties:
 		in a separate device node. Having multiple address ranges in a
 		node implies no special relationship between the two ranges.
 
+		This property may be replaced or supplemented with a
+		memory-region property. Only one of reg or memory-region
+		properties is required.
+
+	- memory-region:
+		Reference to the reserved memory node. The reserved memory
+		node should be defined as per the bindings in
+		reserved-memory.txt
+
+		This property may be replaced or supplemented with a reg
+		property. Only one of reg or memory-region is required.
+
 Optional properties:
 	- Any relevant NUMA assocativity properties for the target platform.
 
@@ -63,3 +75,20 @@  Examples:
 		volatile;
 	};
 
+
+	/*
+	 * This example uses a reserved-memory entry instead of
+	 * specifying the memory region directly in the node.
+	 */
+
+	reserved-memory {
+		pmem_1: pmem@5000 {
+			no-map;
+			reg = <0x00005000 0x00001000>;
+		};
+	};
+
+	pmem@1 {
+		compatible = "pmem-region";
+		memory-region = <&pmem_1>;
+	};