[025/166] mm: add function __putback_isolated_page
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200407030453.wHtLS1Hh4%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [001/166] mm, memcg: bypass high reclaim iteration for cgroup hierarchy root
Related show

Commit Message

Andrew Morton April 7, 2020, 3:04 a.m. UTC
From: Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>
Subject: mm: add function __putback_isolated_page

There are cases where we would benefit from avoiding having to go through
the allocation and free cycle to return an isolated page.

Examples for this might include page poisoning in which we isolate a page
and then put it back in the free list without ever having actually
allocated it.

This will enable us to also avoid notifiers for the future free page
reporting which will need to avoid retriggering page reporting when
returning pages that have been reported on.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200211224624.29318.89287.stgit@localhost.localdomain
Signed-off-by: Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>
Acked-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Luiz Capitulino <lcapitulino@redhat.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Nitesh Narayan Lal <nitesh@redhat.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Pankaj Gupta <pagupta@redhat.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Wei Wang <wei.w.wang@intel.com>
Cc: Yang Zhang <yang.zhang.wz@gmail.com>
Cc: wei qi <weiqi4@huawei.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/internal.h       |    2 ++
 mm/page_alloc.c     |   19 +++++++++++++++++++
 mm/page_isolation.c |    6 ++----
 3 files changed, 23 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/mm/internal.h~mm-add-function-__putback_isolated_page
+++ a/mm/internal.h
@@ -180,6 +180,8 @@  static inline struct page *pageblock_pfn
 }
 
 extern int __isolate_free_page(struct page *page, unsigned int order);
+extern void __putback_isolated_page(struct page *page, unsigned int order,
+				    int mt);
 extern void memblock_free_pages(struct page *page, unsigned long pfn,
 					unsigned int order);
 extern void __free_pages_core(struct page *page, unsigned int order);
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c~mm-add-function-__putback_isolated_page
+++ a/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -3211,6 +3211,25 @@  int __isolate_free_page(struct page *pag
 	return 1UL << order;
 }
 
+/**
+ * __putback_isolated_page - Return a now-isolated page back where we got it
+ * @page: Page that was isolated
+ * @order: Order of the isolated page
+ *
+ * This function is meant to return a page pulled from the free lists via
+ * __isolate_free_page back to the free lists they were pulled from.
+ */
+void __putback_isolated_page(struct page *page, unsigned int order, int mt)
+{
+	struct zone *zone = page_zone(page);
+
+	/* zone lock should be held when this function is called */
+	lockdep_assert_held(&zone->lock);
+
+	/* Return isolated page to tail of freelist. */
+	__free_one_page(page, page_to_pfn(page), zone, order, mt);
+}
+
 /*
  * Update NUMA hit/miss statistics
  *
--- a/mm/page_isolation.c~mm-add-function-__putback_isolated_page
+++ a/mm/page_isolation.c
@@ -117,13 +117,11 @@  static void unset_migratetype_isolate(st
 		__mod_zone_freepage_state(zone, nr_pages, migratetype);
 	}
 	set_pageblock_migratetype(page, migratetype);
+	if (isolated_page)
+		__putback_isolated_page(page, order, migratetype);
 	zone->nr_isolate_pageblock--;
 out:
 	spin_unlock_irqrestore(&zone->lock, flags);
-	if (isolated_page) {
-		post_alloc_hook(page, order, __GFP_MOVABLE);
-		__free_pages(page, order);
-	}
 }
 
 static inline struct page *