[043/166] khugepaged: skip collapse if uffd-wp detected
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200407030604.dE8g_zT9J%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [001/166] mm, memcg: bypass high reclaim iteration for cgroup hierarchy root
Related show

Commit Message

Andrew Morton April 7, 2020, 3:06 a.m. UTC
From: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Subject: khugepaged: skip collapse if uffd-wp detected

Don't collapse the huge PMD if there is any userfault write protected
small PTEs.  The problem is that the write protection is in small page
granularity and there's no way to keep all these write protection
information if the small pages are going to be merged into a huge PMD.

The same thing needs to be considered for swap entries and migration
entries.  So do the check as well disregarding khugepaged_max_ptes_swap.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200220163112.11409-12-peterx@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Bobby Powers <bobbypowers@gmail.com>
Cc: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Denis Plotnikov <dplotnikov@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: "Dr . David Alan Gilbert" <dgilbert@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Martin Cracauer <cracauer@cons.org>
Cc: Marty McFadden <mcfadden8@llnl.gov>
Cc: Maya Gokhale <gokhale2@llnl.gov>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/trace/events/huge_memory.h |    1 +
 mm/khugepaged.c                    |   23 +++++++++++++++++++++++
 2 files changed, 24 insertions(+)

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/include/trace/events/huge_memory.h~khugepaged-skip-collapse-if-uffd-wp-detected
+++ a/include/trace/events/huge_memory.h
@@ -13,6 +13,7 @@ 
 	EM( SCAN_PMD_NULL,		"pmd_null")			\
 	EM( SCAN_EXCEED_NONE_PTE,	"exceed_none_pte")		\
 	EM( SCAN_PTE_NON_PRESENT,	"pte_non_present")		\
+	EM( SCAN_PTE_UFFD_WP,		"pte_uffd_wp")			\
 	EM( SCAN_PAGE_RO,		"no_writable_page")		\
 	EM( SCAN_LACK_REFERENCED_PAGE,	"lack_referenced_page")		\
 	EM( SCAN_PAGE_NULL,		"page_null")			\
--- a/mm/khugepaged.c~khugepaged-skip-collapse-if-uffd-wp-detected
+++ a/mm/khugepaged.c
@@ -29,6 +29,7 @@  enum scan_result {
 	SCAN_PMD_NULL,
 	SCAN_EXCEED_NONE_PTE,
 	SCAN_PTE_NON_PRESENT,
+	SCAN_PTE_UFFD_WP,
 	SCAN_PAGE_RO,
 	SCAN_LACK_REFERENCED_PAGE,
 	SCAN_PAGE_NULL,
@@ -1137,6 +1138,15 @@  static int khugepaged_scan_pmd(struct mm
 		pte_t pteval = *_pte;
 		if (is_swap_pte(pteval)) {
 			if (++unmapped <= khugepaged_max_ptes_swap) {
+				/*
+				 * Always be strict with uffd-wp
+				 * enabled swap entries.  Please see
+				 * comment below for pte_uffd_wp().
+				 */
+				if (pte_swp_uffd_wp(pteval)) {
+					result = SCAN_PTE_UFFD_WP;
+					goto out_unmap;
+				}
 				continue;
 			} else {
 				result = SCAN_EXCEED_SWAP_PTE;
@@ -1156,6 +1166,19 @@  static int khugepaged_scan_pmd(struct mm
 			result = SCAN_PTE_NON_PRESENT;
 			goto out_unmap;
 		}
+		if (pte_uffd_wp(pteval)) {
+			/*
+			 * Don't collapse the page if any of the small
+			 * PTEs are armed with uffd write protection.
+			 * Here we can also mark the new huge pmd as
+			 * write protected if any of the small ones is
+			 * marked but that could bring uknown
+			 * userfault messages that falls outside of
+			 * the registered range.  So, just be simple.
+			 */
+			result = SCAN_PTE_UFFD_WP;
+			goto out_unmap;
+		}
 		if (pte_write(pteval))
 			writable = true;