[144/166] kallsyms: unexport kallsyms_lookup_name() and kallsyms_on_each_symbol()
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200407031143.TIUdoIaga%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [001/166] mm, memcg: bypass high reclaim iteration for cgroup hierarchy root
Related show

Commit Message

Andrew Morton April 7, 2020, 3:11 a.m. UTC
From: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Subject: kallsyms: unexport kallsyms_lookup_name() and kallsyms_on_each_symbol()

kallsyms_lookup_name() and kallsyms_on_each_symbol() are exported to
modules despite having no in-tree users and being wide open to abuse by
out-of-tree modules that can use them as a method to invoke arbitrary
non-exported kernel functions.

Unexport kallsyms_lookup_name() and kallsyms_on_each_symbol().

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200221114404.14641-4-will@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Reviewed-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Acked-by: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Quentin Perret <qperret@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Cc: K.Prasad <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@suse.cz>
Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Cc: Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@redhat.com>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 kernel/kallsyms.c |    2 --
 1 file changed, 2 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/kernel/kallsyms.c~kallsyms-unexport-kallsyms_lookup_name-and-kallsyms_on_each_symbol
+++ a/kernel/kallsyms.c
@@ -175,7 +175,6 @@  unsigned long kallsyms_lookup_name(const
 	}
 	return module_kallsyms_lookup_name(name);
 }
-EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(kallsyms_lookup_name);
 
 int kallsyms_on_each_symbol(int (*fn)(void *, const char *, struct module *,
 				      unsigned long),
@@ -194,7 +193,6 @@  int kallsyms_on_each_symbol(int (*fn)(vo
 	}
 	return module_kallsyms_on_each_symbol(fn, data);
 }
-EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(kallsyms_on_each_symbol);
 
 static unsigned long get_symbol_pos(unsigned long addr,
 				    unsigned long *symbolsize,