[016/131] alpha: simplify detection of memory zone boundaries
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200603225715.Of1f8SUs4%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [001/131] mm/slub: fix a memory leak in sysfs_slab_add()
Related show

Commit Message

Andrew Morton June 3, 2020, 10:57 p.m. UTC
From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Subject: alpha: simplify detection of memory zone boundaries

free_area_init() only requires the definition of maximal PFN for each of
the supported zone rater than calculation of actual zone sizes and the
sizes of the holes between the zones.

After removal of CONFIG_HAVE_MEMBLOCK_NODE_MAP the free_area_init() is
available to all architectures.

Using this function instead of free_area_init_node() simplifies the zone
detection.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200412194859.12663-7-rppt@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Tested-by: Hoan Tran <hoan@os.amperecomputing.com>	[arm64]
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>
Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>
Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/alpha/mm/numa.c |   18 ++++--------------
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/arch/alpha/mm/numa.c~alpha-simplify-detection-of-memory-zone-boundaries
+++ a/arch/alpha/mm/numa.c
@@ -202,8 +202,7 @@  setup_memory(void *kernel_end)
 
 void __init paging_init(void)
 {
-	unsigned int    nid;
-	unsigned long   zones_size[MAX_NR_ZONES] = {0, };
+	unsigned long   max_zone_pfn[MAX_NR_ZONES] = {0, };
 	unsigned long	dma_local_pfn;
 
 	/*
@@ -215,19 +214,10 @@  void __init paging_init(void)
 	 */
 	dma_local_pfn = virt_to_phys((char *)MAX_DMA_ADDRESS) >> PAGE_SHIFT;
 
-	for_each_online_node(nid) {
-		unsigned long start_pfn = NODE_DATA(nid)->node_start_pfn;
-		unsigned long end_pfn = start_pfn + NODE_DATA(nid)->node_present_pages;
+	max_zone_pfn[ZONE_DMA] = dma_local_pfn;
+	max_zone_pfn[ZONE_NORMAL] = max_pfn;
 
-		if (dma_local_pfn >= end_pfn - start_pfn)
-			zones_size[ZONE_DMA] = end_pfn - start_pfn;
-		else {
-			zones_size[ZONE_DMA] = dma_local_pfn;
-			zones_size[ZONE_NORMAL] = (end_pfn - start_pfn) - dma_local_pfn;
-		}
-		node_set_state(nid, N_NORMAL_MEMORY);
-		free_area_init_node(nid, zones_size, start_pfn, NULL);
-	}
+	free_area_init(max_zone_pfn);
 
 	/* Initialize the kernel's ZERO_PGE. */
 	memset((void *)ZERO_PGE, 0, PAGE_SIZE);