[028/131] mm: rename free_area_init_node() to free_area_init_memoryless_node()
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200603225809.UL7IMZGqs%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [001/131] mm/slub: fix a memory leak in sysfs_slab_add()
Related show

Commit Message

Andrew Morton June 3, 2020, 10:58 p.m. UTC
From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Subject: mm: rename free_area_init_node() to free_area_init_memoryless_node()

free_area_init_node() is only used by x86 to initialize a memory-less
nodes.  Make its name reflect this and drop all the function parameters
except node ID as they are anyway zero.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200412194859.12663-19-rppt@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Tested-by: Hoan Tran <hoan@os.amperecomputing.com>	[arm64]
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>
Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>
Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Nick Hu <nickhu@andestech.com>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/x86/mm/numa.c |    5 +----
 include/linux/mm.h |    9 +++------
 mm/page_alloc.c    |    7 ++-----
 3 files changed, 6 insertions(+), 15 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/arch/x86/mm/numa.c~mm-rename-free_area_init_node-to-free_area_init_memoryless_node
+++ a/arch/x86/mm/numa.c
@@ -737,12 +737,9 @@  void __init x86_numa_init(void)
 
 static void __init init_memory_less_node(int nid)
 {
-	unsigned long zones_size[MAX_NR_ZONES] = {0};
-	unsigned long zholes_size[MAX_NR_ZONES] = {0};
-
 	/* Allocate and initialize node data. Memory-less node is now online.*/
 	alloc_node_data(nid);
-	free_area_init_node(nid, zones_size, 0, zholes_size);
+	free_area_init_memoryless_node(nid);
 
 	/*
 	 * All zonelists will be built later in start_kernel() after per cpu
--- a/include/linux/mm.h~mm-rename-free_area_init_node-to-free_area_init_memoryless_node
+++ a/include/linux/mm.h
@@ -2329,8 +2329,7 @@  static inline spinlock_t *pud_lock(struc
 }
 
 extern void __init pagecache_init(void);
-extern void __init free_area_init_node(int nid, unsigned long * zones_size,
-		unsigned long zone_start_pfn, unsigned long *zholes_size);
+extern void __init free_area_init_memoryless_node(int nid);
 extern void free_initmem(void);
 
 /*
@@ -2402,10 +2401,8 @@  static inline unsigned long get_num_phys
 
 /*
  * Using memblock node mappings, an architecture may initialise its
- * zones, allocate the backing mem_map and account for memory holes in a more
- * architecture independent manner. This is a substitute for creating the
- * zone_sizes[] and zholes_size[] arrays and passing them to
- * free_area_init_node()
+ * zones, allocate the backing mem_map and account for memory holes in an
+ * architecture independent manner.
  *
  * An architecture is expected to register range of page frames backed by
  * physical memory with memblock_add[_node]() before calling
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c~mm-rename-free_area_init_node-to-free_area_init_memoryless_node
+++ a/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -6974,12 +6974,9 @@  static void __init __free_area_init_node
 	free_area_init_core(pgdat);
 }
 
-void __init free_area_init_node(int nid, unsigned long *zones_size,
-				unsigned long node_start_pfn,
-				unsigned long *zholes_size)
+void __init free_area_init_memoryless_node(int nid)
 {
-	__free_area_init_node(nid, zones_size, node_start_pfn, zholes_size,
-			      true);
+	__free_area_init_node(nid, NULL, 0, NULL, false);
 }
 
 #if !defined(CONFIG_FLAT_NODE_MEM_MAP)