[064/131] khugepaged: drain LRU add pagevec after swapin
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200603230017.N9kd2klEz%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [001/131] mm/slub: fix a memory leak in sysfs_slab_add()
Related show

Commit Message

Andrew Morton June 3, 2020, 11 p.m. UTC
From: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Subject: khugepaged: drain LRU add pagevec after swapin

collapse_huge_page() tries to swap in pages that are part of the PMD
range.  Just swapped in page goes though LRU add cache.  The cache gets
extra reference on the page.

The extra reference can lead to the collapse fail: the following
__collapse_huge_page_isolate() would check refcount and abort collapse
seeing unexpected refcount.

The fix is to drain local LRU add cache in
__collapse_huge_page_swapin() if we successfully swapped in any pages.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200416160026.16538-5-kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: William Kucharski <william.kucharski@oracle.com>
Reviewed-by: Zi Yan <ziy@nvidia.com>
Tested-by: Zi Yan <ziy@nvidia.com>
Acked-by: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/khugepaged.c |    5 +++++
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/mm/khugepaged.c~khugepaged-drain-lru-add-pagevec-after-swapin
+++ a/mm/khugepaged.c
@@ -931,6 +931,11 @@  static bool __collapse_huge_page_swapin(
 	}
 	vmf.pte--;
 	pte_unmap(vmf.pte);
+
+	/* Drain LRU add pagevec to remove extra pin on the swapped in pages */
+	if (swapped_in)
+		lru_add_drain();
+
 	trace_mm_collapse_huge_page_swapin(mm, swapped_in, referenced, 1);
 	return true;
 }