[04/10] PCI: altera: Remove dev_err() when handing an error from platform_get_irq()
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200802142601.1635926-5-kw@linux.com
State Accepted
Delegated to: Bjorn Helgaas
Headers show
Series
  • Remove surplus dev_err() when handing an error from platform_get_irq()
Related show

Commit Message

Krzysztof Wilczyński Aug. 2, 2020, 2:25 p.m. UTC
There is no need to call the dev_err() function directly to print a
custom message when handling an error from either the platform_get_irq()
or platform_get_irq_byname() functions as both are going to display an
appropriate error message in case of a failure.

This change is as per suggestion from Coccinelle:

  drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera.c:717:2-9: line 717 is redundant
  because platform_get_irq() already prints an error

Suggested-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Wilczyński <kw@linux.com>
---
 drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera.c | 4 +---
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 3 deletions(-)

Comments

Tan, Ley Foon Aug. 3, 2020, 6:19 a.m. UTC | #1
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Krzysztof Wilczyński <kw@linux.com>
> Sent: Sunday, August 2, 2020 10:26 PM
> To: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
> Cc: Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>; Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>;
> Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>; Richard Zhu
> <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>; Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>; Shawn
> Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>; Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>;
> Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>; Yue Wang
> <yue.wang@Amlogic.com>; Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>; Thomas
> Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>; Jesper Nilsson
> <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>; Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>;
> Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>; Pratyush Anand
> <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>; Hou Zhiqiang <Zhiqiang.Hou@nxp.com>;
> Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>; Toan Le
> <toan@os.amperecomputing.com>; Tan, Ley Foon
> <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>; Shawn Lin <shawn.lin@rock-chips.com>; Heiko
> Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>; linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org; linux-arm-
> kernel@axis.com; linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org; linux-
> omap@vger.kernel.org; linux-pci@vger.kernel.org; linux-
> rockchip@lists.infradead.org; linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org; linux-
> tegra@vger.kernel.org; rfi@lists.rocketboards.org
> Subject: [PATCH 04/10] PCI: altera: Remove dev_err() when handing an error
> from platform_get_irq()
> 
> There is no need to call the dev_err() function directly to print a custom
> message when handling an error from either the platform_get_irq() or
> platform_get_irq_byname() functions as both are going to display an
> appropriate error message in case of a failure.
> 
> This change is as per suggestion from Coccinelle:
> 
>   drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera.c:717:2-9: line 717 is redundant
>   because platform_get_irq() already prints an error
> 
> Suggested-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
> Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Wilczyński <kw@linux.com>
> ---

Reviewed-by: Ley Foon Tan <ley.foon.tan@intel.com>

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera.c b/drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera.c
index 24cb1c331058..f6d73d282230 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/controller/pcie-altera.c
@@ -713,10 +713,8 @@  static int altera_pcie_parse_dt(struct altera_pcie *pcie)
 
 	/* setup IRQ */
 	pcie->irq = platform_get_irq(pdev, 0);
-	if (pcie->irq < 0) {
-		dev_err(dev, "failed to get IRQ: %d\n", pcie->irq);
+	if (pcie->irq < 0)
 		return pcie->irq;
-	}
 
 	irq_set_chained_handler_and_data(pcie->irq, altera_pcie_isr, pcie);
 	return 0;