[RESEND] Update .mailmap
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200805065408.1242617-1-martin.agren@gmail.com
State Superseded
Headers show
Series
  • [RESEND] Update .mailmap
Related show

Commit Message

Martin Ågren Aug. 5, 2020, 6:54 a.m. UTC
Similar to a35b13fce0 ("Update .mailmap", 2018-11-09), make the output
of `git shortlog -nse v2.10.0..master` duplicate-free by taking/guessing
the current and preferred addresses for authors that appear with more
than one address.

Use the by far most common e-mail address:
 * Brandon Williams
 * Jiang Xin

Use the most recent e-mail address:
 * Andreas Schwab
 * Birger Skogeng Pedersen
 * Ed Maste
 * Fangyi Zhou
 * Kevin Willford
 * Peter Kaestle

Use the one from their "Signed-off-by":
 * Damien Robert
 * Sun Chao

Signed-off-by: Martin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com>
---
 Ack? I'll collect Acks/Naks into the beginning of next week.

 .mailmap | 13 ++++++++++++-
 1 file changed, 12 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Comments

Andreas Schwab Aug. 5, 2020, 7 a.m. UTC | #1
On Aug 05 2020, Martin Ågren wrote:

> diff --git a/.mailmap b/.mailmap
> index bde7aba756..b4e6eb7dd7 100644
> --- a/.mailmap
> +++ b/.mailmap
> @@ -18,6 +18,7 @@ Alexey Shumkin <alex.crezoff@gmail.com> <zapped@mail.ru>
>  Alexey Shumkin <alex.crezoff@gmail.com> <Alex.Crezoff@gmail.com>
>  Anders Kaseorg <andersk@MIT.EDU> <andersk@ksplice.com>
>  Anders Kaseorg <andersk@MIT.EDU> <andersk@mit.edu>
> +Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> <schwab@suse.de>

Neither of them are more recent.

Andreas.
Martin Ågren Aug. 5, 2020, 7:09 a.m. UTC | #2
(Dropping Jiang Xin's huawei address. It bounces.)

On Wed, 5 Aug 2020 at 09:00, Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> wrote:
>
> On Aug 05 2020, Martin Ågren wrote:
>
> > --- a/.mailmap
> > +++ b/.mailmap
> > +Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> <schwab@suse.de>
>
> Neither of them are more recent.

Thanks, I'll take that as a Nak and drop your entry from the patch.

Martin
Junio C Hamano Aug. 5, 2020, 4:12 p.m. UTC | #3
Martin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com> writes:

> (Dropping Jiang Xin's huawei address. It bounces.)
>
> On Wed, 5 Aug 2020 at 09:00, Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> wrote:
>>
>> On Aug 05 2020, Martin Ågren wrote:
>>
>> > --- a/.mailmap
>> > +++ b/.mailmap
>> > +Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> <schwab@suse.de>
>>
>> Neither of them are more recent.
>
> Thanks, I'll take that as a Nak and drop your entry from the patch.
>
> Martin

FWIW, I do not know the reason why Andreas said the above, but there
are folks who contribute to the same project (not limited to this
one) sometimes as an individual and sometimes as an employee of a
corporation, and want to differenciate which commit is which by
using different author names.  So migrating old and defunct
addresses to the current and working one may be appreciated by the
contributors, but we shouldn't make it a goal to have only one
canonical form per one physical person.  That won't work.

Thanks.
Damien Robert Aug. 8, 2020, 9:11 a.m. UTC | #4
From Martin Ågren, Wed 05 Aug 2020 at 08:54:08 (+0200) :
> Use the one from their "Signed-off-by":
>  * Damien Robert
> +Damien Robert <damien.olivier.robert+git@gmail.com> <damien.olivier.robert@gmail.com>

Ack.

Thanks!
Ed Maste Aug. 9, 2020, 10:38 p.m. UTC | #5
On Wed, 5 Aug 2020 at 02:55, Martin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> Similar to a35b13fce0 ("Update .mailmap", 2018-11-09), make the output
> of `git shortlog -nse v2.10.0..master` duplicate-free by taking/guessing
> the current and preferred addresses for authors that appear with more
> than one address.
>
...
>  * Ed Maste
...
>
> Signed-off-by: Martin Ågren <martin.agren@gmail.com>

Acked-by: Ed Maste <emaste@FreeBSD.org>

Patch
diff mbox series

diff --git a/.mailmap b/.mailmap
index bde7aba756..b4e6eb7dd7 100644
--- a/.mailmap
+++ b/.mailmap
@@ -18,6 +18,7 @@  Alexey Shumkin <alex.crezoff@gmail.com> <zapped@mail.ru>
 Alexey Shumkin <alex.crezoff@gmail.com> <Alex.Crezoff@gmail.com>
 Anders Kaseorg <andersk@MIT.EDU> <andersk@ksplice.com>
 Anders Kaseorg <andersk@MIT.EDU> <andersk@mit.edu>
+Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org> <schwab@suse.de>
 Andrey Mazo <ahippo@yandex.com> Mazo, Andrey <amazo@checkvideo.com>
 Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@gmail.com>
 Amos Waterland <apw@debian.org> <apw@rossby.metr.ou.edu>
@@ -27,8 +28,10 @@  Ben Peart <benpeart@microsoft.com> <peartben@gmail.com>
 Ben Walton <bdwalton@gmail.com> <bwalton@artsci.utoronto.ca>
 Benoit Sigoure <tsunanet@gmail.com> <tsuna@lrde.epita.fr>
 Bernt Hansen <bernt@norang.ca> <bernt@alumni.uwaterloo.ca>
+Birger Skogeng Pedersen <birger.sp@gmail.com> <birgersp@gmail.com>
 Brandon Casey <drafnel@gmail.com> <casey@nrlssc.navy.mil>
 Brandon Williams <bwilliams.eng@gmail.com> <bmwill@google.com>
+Brandon Williams <bwilliams.eng@gmail.com> <bwilliamseng@gmail.com>
 brian m. carlson <sandals@crustytoothpaste.net>
 brian m. carlson <sandals@crustytoothpaste.net> <sandals@crustytoothpaste.ath.cx>
 brian m. carlson <sandals@crustytoothpaste.net> <bk2204@github.com>
@@ -45,6 +48,7 @@  Christopher Díaz Riveros <chrisadr@gentoo.org> Christopher Diaz Riveros
 Clemens Buchacher <drizzd@gmx.net> <drizzd@aon.at>
 Clemens Buchacher <drizzd@gmx.net> <clemens.buchacher@intel.com>
 Csaba Henk <csaba@gluster.com> <csaba@lowlife.hu>
+Damien Robert <damien.olivier.robert+git@gmail.com> <damien.olivier.robert@gmail.com>
 Dan Johnson <computerdruid@gmail.com>
 Dana L. How <danahow@gmail.com> <how@deathvalley.cswitch.com>
 Dana L. How <danahow@gmail.com> Dana How
@@ -64,13 +68,15 @@  Derrick Stolee <dstolee@microsoft.com> Derrick Stolee via GitGitGadget <gitgitga
 Deskin Miller <deskinm@umich.edu>
 Đoàn Trần Công Danh <congdanhqx@gmail.com> Doan Tran Cong Danh
 Dirk Süsserott <newsletter@dirk.my1.cc>
+Ed Maste <emaste@FreeBSD.org> <emaste@freebsd.org>
 Eric Blake <eblake@redhat.com> <ebb9@byu.net>
 Eric Hanchrow <eric.hanchrow@gmail.com> <offby1@blarg.net>
 Eric S. Raymond <esr@thyrsus.com>
 Eric Wong <e@80x24.org> <normalperson@yhbt.net>
 Erik Faye-Lund <kusmabite@gmail.com> <kusmabite@googlemail.com>
 Eyvind Bernhardsen <eyvind.bernhardsen@gmail.com> <eyvind-git@orakel.ntnu.no>
-Fangyi Zhou <fangyi.zhou@yuriko.moe> Zhou Fangyi
+Fangyi Zhou <me@fangyi.io> <fangyi.zhou@yuriko.moe>
+Fangyi Zhou <me@fangyi.io> Zhou Fangyi <fangyi.zhou@yuriko.moe>
 Florian Achleitner <florian.achleitner.2.6.31@gmail.com> <florian.achleitner2.6.31@gmail.com>
 Franck Bui-Huu <vagabon.xyz@gmail.com> <fbuihuu@gmail.com>
 Frank Lichtenheld <frank@lichtenheld.de> <djpig@debian.org>
@@ -107,6 +113,8 @@  Jeff Muizelaar <jmuizelaar@mozilla.com> <jeff@infidigm.net>
 Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> <axboe@suse.de>
 Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
 Jens Lindström <jl@opera.com> Jens Lindstrom <jl@opera.com>
+Jiang Xin <worldhello.net@gmail.com> <xin.jiang@huawei.com>
+Jiang Xin <worldhello.net@gmail.com> <zhiyou.jx@alibaba-inc.com>
 Jim Meyering <jim@meyering.net> <meyering@redhat.com>
 Joachim Berdal Haga <cjhaga@fys.uio.no>
 Joachim Jablon <joachim.jablon@people-doc.com> <ewjoachim@gmail.com>
@@ -142,6 +150,7 @@  Kazuki Saitoh <ksaitoh560@gmail.com> kazuki saitoh <ksaitoh560@gmail.com>
 Keith Cascio <keith@CS.UCLA.EDU> <keith@cs.ucla.edu>
 Kent Engstrom <kent@lysator.liu.se>
 Kevin Leung <kevinlsk@gmail.com>
+Kevin Willford <Kevin.Willford@microsoft.com> <kewillf@microsoft.com>
 Kirill Smelkov <kirr@navytux.spb.ru> <kirr@landau.phys.spbu.ru>
 Kirill Smelkov <kirr@navytux.spb.ru> <kirr@mns.spb.ru>
 Knut Franke <Knut.Franke@gmx.de> <k.franke@science-computing.de>
@@ -213,6 +222,7 @@  Peter Krefting <peter@softwolves.pp.se> <peter@softwolves.pp.se>
 Peter Krefting <peter@softwolves.pp.se> <peter@svarten.intern.softwolves.pp.se>
 Petr Baudis <pasky@ucw.cz> <pasky@suse.cz>
 Petr Baudis <pasky@ucw.cz> <xpasky@machine>
+Peter Kaestle <peter@piie.net> <peter.kaestle@nokia.com>
 Phil Hord <hordp@cisco.com> <phil.hord@gmail.com>
 Philip Jägenstedt <philip@foolip.org> <philip.jagenstedt@gmail.com>
 Philip Oakley <philipoakley@iee.email> <philipoakley@iee.org> # secondary <philipoakley@dunelm.org.uk>
@@ -256,6 +266,7 @@  Steven Grimm <koreth@midwinter.com> <sgrimm@sgrimm-mbp.local>
 Steven Grimm <koreth@midwinter.com> koreth@midwinter.com
 Steven Walter <stevenrwalter@gmail.com> <swalter@lexmark.com>
 Steven Walter <stevenrwalter@gmail.com> <swalter@lpdev.prtdev.lexmark.com>
+Sun Chao <sunchao9@huawei.com> <16657101987@163.com>
 Sven Verdoolaege <skimo@kotnet.org> <Sven.Verdoolaege@cs.kuleuven.ac.be>
 Sven Verdoolaege <skimo@kotnet.org> <skimo@liacs.nl>
 SZEDER Gábor <szeder.dev@gmail.com> <szeder@ira.uka.de>