[115/163] mm/mremap: calculate extent in one place
diff mbox series

Message ID 20200807062344.aiW9-gNx4%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [001/163] mm/memory.c: avoid access flag update TLB flush for retried page fault
Related show

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Aug. 7, 2020, 6:23 a.m. UTC
From: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@linux.alibaba.com>
Subject: mm/mremap: calculate extent in one place

Page tables is moved on the base of PMD.  This requires both source and
destination range should meet the requirement.

Current code works well since move_huge_pmd() and move_normal_pmd() would
check old_addr and new_addr again.  And then return to move_ptes() if the
either of them is not aligned.

Instead of calculating the extent separately, it is better to calculate in
one place, so we know it is not necessary to try move pmd.  By doing so,
the logic seems a little clear.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200708095028.41706-3-richard.weiyang@linux.alibaba.com
Signed-off-by: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@linux.alibaba.com>
Tested-by: Dmitry Osipenko <digetx@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Cc: Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@vmware.com>
Cc: Thomas Hellstrom (VMware) <thomas_os@shipmail.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/mremap.c |    6 +++---
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox series

--- a/mm/mremap.c~mm-mremap-calculate-extent-in-one-place
+++ a/mm/mremap.c
@@ -277,6 +277,9 @@  unsigned long move_page_tables(struct vm
 		extent = next - old_addr;
 		if (extent > old_end - old_addr)
 			extent = old_end - old_addr;
+		next = (new_addr + PMD_SIZE) & PMD_MASK;
+		if (extent > next - new_addr)
+			extent = next - new_addr;
 		old_pmd = get_old_pmd(vma->vm_mm, old_addr);
 		if (!old_pmd)
 			continue;
@@ -320,9 +323,6 @@  unsigned long move_page_tables(struct vm
 
 		if (pte_alloc(new_vma->vm_mm, new_pmd))
 			break;
-		next = (new_addr + PMD_SIZE) & PMD_MASK;
-		if (extent > next - new_addr)
-			extent = next - new_addr;
 		move_ptes(vma, old_pmd, old_addr, old_addr + extent, new_vma,
 			  new_pmd, new_addr, need_rmap_locks);
 	}