drm/i915: Init power domains early in driver load
diff mbox

Message ID 1452172608-2639-1-git-send-email-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

Daniel Vetter Jan. 7, 2016, 1:16 p.m. UTC
Since

commit ac9b8236551d1177fd07b56aef9b565d1864420d
Author: Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
Date:   Fri Nov 27 18:55:26 2015 +0200

    drm/i915: Introduce a gmbus power domain

gmbus also needs the power domain infrastructure right from the start,
since as soon as we register the i2c controllers someone can use them.

v2: Adjust cleanup paths too (Chris).

v3: Rebase onto -nightly (totally bogus tree I had lying around) and
also move dpio init head (Ville).

Cc: Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Patrik Jakobsson <patrik.jakobsson@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Imre Deak <imre.deak@intel.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Cc: Meelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Fixes: ac9b8236551d ("drm/i915: Introduce a gmbus power domain")
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
References: http://www.spinics.net/lists/intel-gfx/msg83075.html
Tested-by: Meelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_dma.c | 14 ++++++--------
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

Patch
diff mbox

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_dma.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_dma.c
index 988a3806512a..fcefd3beef50 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_dma.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_dma.c
@@ -398,7 +398,6 @@  static int i915_load_modeset_init(struct drm_device *dev)
 	if (ret)
 		goto cleanup_vga_switcheroo;
 
-	intel_power_domains_init_hw(dev_priv, false);
 
 	intel_csr_ucode_init(dev_priv);
 
@@ -1025,6 +1024,9 @@  int i915_driver_load(struct drm_device *dev, unsigned long flags)
 
 	intel_irq_init(dev_priv);
 	intel_uncore_sanitize(dev);
+	intel_power_domains_init(dev_priv);
+	intel_init_dpio(dev_priv);
+	intel_power_domains_init_hw(dev_priv, false);
 
 	/* Try to make sure MCHBAR is enabled before poking at it */
 	intel_setup_mchbar(dev);
@@ -1049,20 +1051,16 @@  int i915_driver_load(struct drm_device *dev, unsigned long flags)
 
 	intel_device_info_runtime_init(dev);
 
-	intel_init_dpio(dev_priv);
-
 	if (INTEL_INFO(dev)->num_pipes) {
 		ret = drm_vblank_init(dev, INTEL_INFO(dev)->num_pipes);
 		if (ret)
 			goto out_gem_unload;
 	}
 
-	intel_power_domains_init(dev_priv);
-
 	ret = i915_load_modeset_init(dev);
 	if (ret < 0) {
 		DRM_ERROR("failed to init modeset\n");
-		goto out_power_well;
+		goto out_vblank;
 	}
 
 	/*
@@ -1091,8 +1089,7 @@  int i915_driver_load(struct drm_device *dev, unsigned long flags)
 
 	return 0;
 
-out_power_well:
-	intel_power_domains_fini(dev_priv);
+out_vblank:
 	drm_vblank_cleanup(dev);
 out_gem_unload:
 	WARN_ON(unregister_oom_notifier(&dev_priv->mm.oom_notifier));
@@ -1103,6 +1100,7 @@  out_gem_unload:
 
 	intel_teardown_gmbus(dev);
 	intel_teardown_mchbar(dev);
+	intel_power_domains_fini(dev_priv);
 	pm_qos_remove_request(&dev_priv->pm_qos);
 	destroy_workqueue(dev_priv->gpu_error.hangcheck_wq);
 out_freedpwq: