[v4,2/2] kbuild: Remove stale asm-generic wrappers
diff mbox

Message ID 1466808144-23209-3-git-send-email-james.hogan@imgtec.com
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

James Hogan June 24, 2016, 10:42 p.m. UTC
When a header file is removed from generic-y (often accompanied by the
addition of an arch specific header), the generated wrapper file will
persist, and in some cases may still take precedence over the new arch
header.

For example commit f1fe2d21f4e1 ("MIPS: Add definitions for extended
context") removed ucontext.h from generic-y in arch/mips/include/asm/,
and added an arch/mips/include/uapi/asm/ucontext.h. The continued use of
the wrapper when reusing a dirty build tree resulted in build failures
in arch/mips/kernel/signal.c:

arch/mips/kernel/signal.c: In function ‘sc_to_extcontext’:
arch/mips/kernel/signal.c:142:12: error: ‘struct ucontext’ has no member named ‘uc_extcontext’
  return &uc->uc_extcontext;
            ^

Fix by detecting and removing wrapper headers in generated header
directories that do not correspond to a filename in generic-y, genhdr-y,
or the newly introduced generated-y.

Reported-by: Jacek Anaszewski <j.anaszewski@samsung.com>
Reported-by: Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Reported-by: Heinrich Schuchardt <xypron.glpk@gmx.de>
Signed-off-by: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>
Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Acked-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Cc: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@imgtec.com>
Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
Cc: linux-kbuild@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org
---
Changes in v4:
- None (resend).

Changes in v3:
- Ensure FORCE actually gets marked .PHONY.

Changes in v2:
- Rewrite a bit, drawing inspiration from Makefile.headersinst.
- Exclude genhdr-y and generated-y (thanks to kbuild test robot).
---
 scripts/Makefile.asm-generic | 17 ++++++++++++++++-
 1 file changed, 16 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch
diff mbox

diff --git a/scripts/Makefile.asm-generic b/scripts/Makefile.asm-generic
index 045e0098e962..e4d017d53819 100644
--- a/scripts/Makefile.asm-generic
+++ b/scripts/Makefile.asm-generic
@@ -13,11 +13,26 @@  include scripts/Kbuild.include
 # Create output directory if not already present
 _dummy := $(shell [ -d $(obj) ] || mkdir -p $(obj))
 
+# Stale wrappers when the corresponding files are removed from generic-y
+# need removing.
+generated-y   := $(generic-y) $(genhdr-y) $(generated-y)
+all-files     := $(patsubst %, $(obj)/%, $(generated-y))
+old-headers   := $(wildcard $(obj)/*.h)
+unwanted      := $(filter-out $(all-files),$(old-headers))
+
 quiet_cmd_wrap = WRAP    $@
 cmd_wrap = echo "\#include <asm-generic/$*.h>" >$@
 
-all: $(patsubst %, $(obj)/%, $(generic-y))
+quiet_cmd_remove = REMOVE  $(unwanted)
+cmd_remove = rm -f $(unwanted)
+
+all: $(patsubst %, $(obj)/%, $(generic-y)) FORCE
+	$(if $(unwanted),$(call cmd,remove),)
 	@:
 
 $(obj)/%.h:
 	$(call cmd,wrap)
+
+PHONY += FORCE
+.PHONY: $(PHONY)
+FORCE: ;