[4.4,082/112] x86/e820: Dont merge consecutive E820_PRAM ranges
diff mbox

Message ID 20161026122308.235422020@linuxfoundation.org
State New, archived
Headers show

Commit Message

Greg KH Oct. 26, 2016, 12:23 p.m. UTC
4.4-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>

commit 23446cb66c073b827779e5eb3dec301623299b32 upstream.

Commit:

  917db484dc6a ("x86/boot: Fix kdump, cleanup aborted E820_PRAM max_pfn manipulation")

... fixed up the broken manipulations of max_pfn in the presence of
E820_PRAM ranges.

However, it also broke the sanitize_e820_map() support for not merging
E820_PRAM ranges.

Re-introduce the enabling to keep resource boundaries between
consecutive defined ranges. Otherwise, for example, an environment that
boots with memmap=2G!8G,2G!10G will end up with a single 4G /dev/pmem0
device instead of a /dev/pmem0 and /dev/pmem1 device 2G in size.

Reported-by: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Zhang Yi <yizhan@redhat.com>
Cc: linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org
Fixes: 917db484dc6a ("x86/boot: Fix kdump, cleanup aborted E820_PRAM max_pfn manipulation")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/147629530854.10618.10383744751594021268.stgit@dwillia2-desk3.amr.corp.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
 arch/x86/kernel/e820.c |    2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch
diff mbox

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/e820.c
@@ -347,7 +347,7 @@  int __init sanitize_e820_map(struct e820
 		 * continue building up new bios map based on this
 		 * information
 		 */
-		if (current_type != last_type) {
+		if (current_type != last_type || current_type == E820_PRAM) {
 			if (last_type != 0)	 {
 				new_bios[new_bios_entry].size =
 					change_point[chgidx]->addr - last_addr;