diff mbox series

[38/65] media/videbuf1|2: Mark follow_pfn usage as unsafe

Message ID 20201023122216.2373294-38-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch
State New, archived
Headers show
Series [01/65] drm/vc4: Drop legacy_cursor_update override | expand

Commit Message

Daniel Vetter Oct. 23, 2020, 12:21 p.m. UTC
The media model assumes that buffers are all preallocated, so that
when a media pipeline is running we never miss a deadline because the
buffers aren't allocated or available.

This means we cannot fix the v4l follow_pfn usage through
mmu_notifier, without breaking how this all works. The only real fix
is to deprecate userptr support for VM_IO | VM_PFNMAP mappings and
tell everyone to cut over to dma-buf memory sharing for zerocopy.

userptr for normal memory will keep working as-is, this only affects
the zerocopy userptr usage enabled in 50ac952d2263 ("[media]
videobuf2-dma-sg: Support io userptr operations on io memory").

Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Pawel Osciak <pawel@osciak.com>
Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
Cc: Tomasz Figa <tfiga@chromium.org>
Cc: Laurent Dufour <ldufour@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
--
v3:
- Reference the commit that enabled the zerocopy userptr use case to
  make it abundandtly clear that this patch only affects that, and not
  normal memory userptr. The old commit message already explained that
  normal memory userptr is unaffected, but I guess that was not clear
  enough.
---
 drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c | 2 +-
 drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c | 2 +-
 2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c b/drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c
index 6590987c14bd..e630494da65c 100644
--- a/drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c
+++ b/drivers/media/common/videobuf2/frame_vector.c
@@ -69,7 +69,7 @@  int get_vaddr_frames(unsigned long start, unsigned int nr_frames,
 			break;
 
 		while (ret < nr_frames && start + PAGE_SIZE <= vma->vm_end) {
-			err = follow_pfn(vma, start, &nums[ret]);
+			err = unsafe_follow_pfn(vma, start, &nums[ret]);
 			if (err) {
 				if (ret == 0)
 					ret = err;
diff --git a/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c b/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c
index 52312ce2ba05..821c4a76ab96 100644
--- a/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c
+++ b/drivers/media/v4l2-core/videobuf-dma-contig.c
@@ -183,7 +183,7 @@  static int videobuf_dma_contig_user_get(struct videobuf_dma_contig_memory *mem,
 	user_address = untagged_baddr;
 
 	while (pages_done < (mem->size >> PAGE_SHIFT)) {
-		ret = follow_pfn(vma, user_address, &this_pfn);
+		ret = unsafe_follow_pfn(vma, user_address, &this_pfn);
 		if (ret)
 			break;