diff mbox series

[v4,10/15] vfio/type1: Mark follow_pfn as unsafe

Message ID 20201026105818.2585306-11-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch
State New, archived
Headers show
Series follow_pfn and other iomap races | expand

Commit Message

Daniel Vetter Oct. 26, 2020, 10:58 a.m. UTC
The code seems to stuff these pfns into iommu pts (or something like
that, I didn't follow), but there's no mmu_notifier to ensure that
access is synchronized with pte updates.

Hence mark these as unsafe. This means that with
CONFIG_STRICT_FOLLOW_PFN, these will be rejected.

Real fix is to wire up an mmu_notifier ... somehow. Probably means any
invalidate is a fatal fault for this vfio device, but then this
shouldn't ever happen if userspace is reasonable.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>
Cc: Cornelia Huck <cohuck@redhat.com>
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
---
 drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c | 4 ++--
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c b/drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c
index 5fbf0c1f7433..a4d53f3d0a35 100644
--- a/drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c
+++ b/drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c
@@ -421,7 +421,7 @@  static int follow_fault_pfn(struct vm_area_struct *vma, struct mm_struct *mm,
 {
 	int ret;
 
-	ret = follow_pfn(vma, vaddr, pfn);
+	ret = unsafe_follow_pfn(vma, vaddr, pfn);
 	if (ret) {
 		bool unlocked = false;
 
@@ -435,7 +435,7 @@  static int follow_fault_pfn(struct vm_area_struct *vma, struct mm_struct *mm,
 		if (ret)
 			return ret;
 
-		ret = follow_pfn(vma, vaddr, pfn);
+		ret = unsafe_follow_pfn(vma, vaddr, pfn);
 	}
 
 	return ret;