diff mbox series

[v3,1/4] drm: bridge/panel: Cleanup connector on bridge detach

Message ID 20210124085552.29146-2-paul@crapouillou.net (mailing list archive)
State New, archived
Headers show
Series Fixes to bridge/panel and ingenic-drm | expand

Commit Message

Paul Cercueil Jan. 24, 2021, 8:55 a.m. UTC
If we don't call drm_connector_cleanup() manually in
panel_bridge_detach(), the connector will be cleaned up with the other
DRM objects in the call to drm_mode_config_cleanup(). However, since our
drm_connector is devm-allocated, by the time drm_mode_config_cleanup()
will be called, our connector will be long gone. Therefore, the
connector must be cleaned up when the bridge is detached to avoid
use-after-free conditions.

v2: Cleanup connector only if it was created

v3: Add FIXME

Fixes: 13dfc0540a57 ("drm/bridge: Refactor out the panel wrapper from the lvds-encoder bridge.")
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # 4.12+
Cc: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>
Cc: Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>
Cc: Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Cc: Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>
Cc: Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>
Signed-off-by: Paul Cercueil <paul@crapouillou.net>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/panel.c | 12 ++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 12 insertions(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/panel.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/panel.c
index 0ddc37551194..5959e8183cd0 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/panel.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/panel.c
@@ -87,6 +87,18 @@  static int panel_bridge_attach(struct drm_bridge *bridge,
 
 static void panel_bridge_detach(struct drm_bridge *bridge)
 {
+	struct panel_bridge *panel_bridge = drm_bridge_to_panel_bridge(bridge);
+	struct drm_connector *connector = &panel_bridge->connector;
+
+	/*
+	 * Cleanup the connector if we know it was initialized.
+	 *
+	 * FIXME: This wouldn't be needed if the panel_bridge structure was
+	 * allocated with drmm_kzalloc(). This might be tricky since the
+	 * drm_device pointer can only be retrieved when the bridge is attached.
+	 */
+	if (!!panel_bridge->connector.dev)
+		drm_connector_cleanup(connector);
 }
 
 static void panel_bridge_pre_enable(struct drm_bridge *bridge)