diff mbox series

[12/65] drm/imx: Annotate dma-fence critical section in commit path

Message ID 20201023122216.2373294-12-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch
State New, archived
Headers show
Series [01/65] drm/vc4: Drop legacy_cursor_update override | expand

Commit Message

Daniel Vetter Oct. 23, 2020, 12:21 p.m. UTC
drm_atomic_helper_commit_hw_done() is the last thing (no plane cleanup
apparrently), so it's the entire function. And a nice comment
explaining why thw wait_for_flip_done is ahead, unlike the usual
sequence.

Aside, I think since the atomic helpers do track plane disabling now
separately this might no longer be a real problem since:

commit 21a01abbe32a3cbeb903378a24e504bfd9fe0648
Author: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Date:   Mon Sep 4 12:48:37 2017 +0200

    drm/atomic: Fix freeing connector/plane state too early by tracking commits, v3.

Plus the subsequent bugfixes of course, this was tricky to get right.

Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Cc: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>
Cc: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>
Cc: NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/imx/imx-drm-core.c | 2 ++
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/imx/imx-drm-core.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/imx/imx-drm-core.c
index 7d00c49fd5a5..0a6db8eeb25d 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/imx/imx-drm-core.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/imx/imx-drm-core.c
@@ -80,6 +80,7 @@  static void imx_drm_atomic_commit_tail(struct drm_atomic_state *state)
 	struct drm_plane_state *old_plane_state, *new_plane_state;
 	bool plane_disabling = false;
 	int i;
+	bool fence_cookie = dma_fence_begin_signalling();
 
 	drm_atomic_helper_commit_modeset_disables(dev, state);
 
@@ -110,6 +111,7 @@  static void imx_drm_atomic_commit_tail(struct drm_atomic_state *state)
 	}
 
 	drm_atomic_helper_commit_hw_done(state);
+	dma_fence_end_signalling(fence_cookie);
 }
 
 static const struct drm_mode_config_helper_funcs imx_drm_mode_config_helpers = {