mbox series

[v3,00/34] component: Make into an aggregate bus

Message ID 20211026000044.885195-1-swboyd@chromium.org (mailing list archive)
Headers show
Series component: Make into an aggregate bus | expand


Stephen Boyd Oct. 26, 2021, midnight UTC
This series is from discussion we had on reordering the device lists for
drm shutdown paths[1]. I've introduced an 'aggregate' bus that we put
the aggregate device onto and then we probe the aggregate device once
all the components are probed and call component_add(). The probe/remove
hooks are where the bind/unbind calls go, and then a shutdown hook is
added that can be used to shutdown the drm display pipeline at the right

This works for me on my sc7180 board. I no longer get a warning from i2c
at shutdown that we're trying to make an i2c transaction after the i2c
bus has been shutdown. There's more work to do on the msm drm driver to
extract component device resources like clks, regulators, etc. out of
the component bind function into the driver probe but I wanted to move
everything over now in other component drivers before tackling that

Tested-by tags would be appreciated, and Acked-by/Reviewed-by tags too.
I sent this to gregkh which may be incorrect but I don't know what
better tree to send it all through.  Maybe drm?

Changes since v2 (https://lore.kernel.org/r/20211006193819.2654854-1-swboyd@chromium.org):
 - Picked up acks
 - Fixed build warnings/errors
 - Reworked patch series to rename 'master' in a different patch

Changes since v1 (https://lore.kernel.org/r/20210520002519.3538432-1-swboyd@chromium.org):
 - Use devlink to connect components to the aggregate device
 - Don't set the registering device as a parent of the aggregate device
 - New patch for bind_component/unbind_component ops that takes the
   aggregate device
 - Convert all drivers in the tree to use the aggregate driver approach
 - Allow one aggregate driver to be used for multiple aggregate devices

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/r/20210508074118.1621729-1-swboyd@chromium.org

Stephen Boyd (34):
  component: Introduce struct aggregate_device
  component: Remove most references to 'master'
  component: Introduce the aggregate bus_type
  component: Move struct aggregate_device out to header file
  component: Add {bind,unbind}_component() ops that take aggregate
  drm/of: Add a drm_of_aggregate_probe() API
  drm/msm: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/komeda: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/arm/hdlcd: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/malidp: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/armada: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/etnaviv: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/kirin: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/exynos: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/imx: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/ingenic: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/mcde: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/mediatek: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/meson: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/omap: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/rockchip: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/sti: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/sun4i: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/tilcdc: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/vc4: Migrate to aggregate driver
  drm/zte: Migrate to aggregate driver
  iommu/mtk: Migrate to aggregate driver
  mei: Migrate to aggregate driver
  power: supply: ab8500: Migrate to aggregate driver
  fbdev: omap2: Migrate to aggregate driver
  sound: hdac: Migrate to aggregate driver
  ASoC: codecs: wcd938x: Migrate to aggregate driver
  component: Get rid of drm_of_component_probe()
  component: Remove component_master_ops and friends

 drivers/base/component.c                      | 540 ++++++++++--------
 .../gpu/drm/arm/display/komeda/komeda_drv.c   |  20 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/arm/hdlcd_drv.c               |  21 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/arm/malidp_drv.c              |  21 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/armada/armada_drv.c           |  23 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/drm_drv.c                     |   2 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/drm_of.c                      |  18 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/etnaviv/etnaviv_drv.c         |  20 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/exynos/exynos_drm_drv.c       |  21 +-
 .../gpu/drm/hisilicon/kirin/kirin_drm_drv.c   |  20 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/imx/imx-drm-core.c            |  20 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/ingenic/ingenic-drm-drv.c     |  25 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/mcde/mcde_drv.c               |  23 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/mediatek/mtk_drm_drv.c        |  20 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/meson/meson_drv.c             |  21 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/msm/msm_drv.c                 |  46 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/omapdrm/dss/dss.c             |  17 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/rockchip/rockchip_drm_drv.c   |  20 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/sti/sti_drv.c                 |  20 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/sun4i/sun4i_drv.c             |  26 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/tilcdc/tilcdc_drv.c           |  28 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/vc4/vc4_drv.c                 |  20 +-
 drivers/gpu/drm/zte/zx_drm_drv.c              |  20 +-
 drivers/iommu/mtk_iommu.c                     |  14 +-
 drivers/iommu/mtk_iommu.h                     |   6 +-
 drivers/iommu/mtk_iommu_v1.c                  |  14 +-
 drivers/misc/mei/hdcp/mei_hdcp.c              |  22 +-
 drivers/power/supply/ab8500_charger.c         |  22 +-
 drivers/video/fbdev/omap2/omapfb/dss/dss.c    |  20 +-
 include/drm/drm_of.h                          |  10 +-
 include/linux/component.h                     |  92 ++-
 sound/hda/hdac_component.c                    |  21 +-
 sound/soc/codecs/wcd938x.c                    |  20 +-
 33 files changed, 767 insertions(+), 486 deletions(-)

Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Gaignard <benjamin.gaignard@linaro.org>
Cc: Chen Feng <puck.chen@hisilicon.com>
Cc: Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>
Cc: Christian Gmeiner <christian.gmeiner@gmail.com>
Cc: Chun-Kuang Hu <chunkuang.hu@kernel.org>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Emma Anholt <emma@anholt.net>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Heiko Stübner" <heiko@sntech.de>
Cc: Inki Dae <inki.dae@samsung.com>
Cc: James Qian Wang (Arm Technology China) <james.qian.wang@arm.com>
Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: Joonyoung Shim <jy0922.shim@samsung.com>
Cc: Jyri Sarha <jyri.sarha@iki.fi>
Cc: Kai Vehmanen <kai.vehmanen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Kyungmin Park <kyungmin.park@samsung.com>
Cc: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Cc: <linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: <linux-pm@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Liviu Dudau <liviu.dudau@arm.com>
Cc: Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>
Cc: Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>
Cc: Paul Cercueil <paul@crapouillou.net>
Cc: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: Rob Clark <robdclark@gmail.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Russell King <linux+etnaviv@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Sandy Huang <hjc@rock-chips.com>
Cc: Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>
Cc: Sebastian Reichel <sre@kernel.org>
Cc: Seung-Woo Kim <sw0312.kim@samsung.com>
Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>
Cc: Tian Tao <tiantao6@hisilicon.com>
Cc: Tomas Winkler <tomas.winkler@intel.com>
Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomba@kernel.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Xinliang Liu <xinliang.liu@linaro.org>
Cc: Xinwei Kong <kong.kongxinwei@hisilicon.com>
Cc: Yong Wu <yong.wu@mediatek.com>

base-commit: e4e737bb5c170df6135a127739a9e6148ee3da82