diff mbox series

[042/156] mm, hwpoison: remove recalculating hpage

Message ID 20201016024326.DJW5b_iYd%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series [001/156] device-dax/kmem: fix resource release | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Oct. 16, 2020, 2:43 a.m. UTC
From: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Subject: mm, hwpoison: remove recalculating hpage

hpage is never used after try_to_split_thp_page() in memory_failure(), so
we don't have to update hpage.  So let's not recalculate/use hpage.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200922135650.1634-3-osalvador@suse.de
Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Signed-off-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Suggested-by: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Reviewed-by: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Aristeu Rozanski <aris@ruivo.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Dmitry Yakunin <zeil@yandex-team.ru>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.com>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/memory-failure.c |    6 +-----
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 5 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/memory-failure.c~mm-hwpoison-remove-recalculating-hpage
+++ a/mm/memory-failure.c
@@ -1341,7 +1341,6 @@  int memory_failure(unsigned long pfn, in
 		}
 		unlock_page(p);
 		VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(!page_count(p), p);
-		hpage = compound_head(p);
 	}
 
 	/*
@@ -1413,11 +1412,8 @@  int memory_failure(unsigned long pfn, in
 	/*
 	 * Now take care of user space mappings.
 	 * Abort on fail: __delete_from_page_cache() assumes unmapped page.
-	 *
-	 * When the raw error page is thp tail page, hpage points to the raw
-	 * page after thp split.
 	 */
-	if (!hwpoison_user_mappings(p, pfn, flags, &hpage)) {
+	if (!hwpoison_user_mappings(p, pfn, flags, &p)) {
 		action_result(pfn, MF_MSG_UNMAP_FAILED, MF_IGNORED);
 		res = -EBUSY;
 		goto out;