diff mbox series

[052/156] mm,hwpoison: introduce MF_MSG_UNSPLIT_THP

Message ID 20201016024408.nk0B4cbzJ%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series [001/156] device-dax/kmem: fix resource release | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Oct. 16, 2020, 2:44 a.m. UTC
From: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Subject: mm,hwpoison: introduce MF_MSG_UNSPLIT_THP

memory_failure() is supposed to call action_result() when it handles a
memory error event, but there's one missing case.  So let's add it.

I find that include/ras/ras_event.h has some other MF_MSG_* undefined, so
this patch also adds them.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200922135650.1634-13-osalvador@suse.de
Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Signed-off-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Aristeu Rozanski <aris@ruivo.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Dmitry Yakunin <zeil@yandex-team.ru>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.com>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/mm.h      |    1 +
 include/ras/ras_event.h |    3 +++
 mm/memory-failure.c     |    5 ++++-
 3 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/include/linux/mm.h~mmhwpoison-introduce-mf_msg_unsplit_thp
+++ a/include/linux/mm.h
@@ -3064,6 +3064,7 @@  enum mf_action_page_type {
 	MF_MSG_BUDDY,
 	MF_MSG_BUDDY_2ND,
 	MF_MSG_DAX,
+	MF_MSG_UNSPLIT_THP,
 	MF_MSG_UNKNOWN,
 };
 
--- a/include/ras/ras_event.h~mmhwpoison-introduce-mf_msg_unsplit_thp
+++ a/include/ras/ras_event.h
@@ -361,6 +361,7 @@  TRACE_EVENT(aer_event,
 	EM ( MF_MSG_POISONED_HUGE, "huge page already hardware poisoned" )	\
 	EM ( MF_MSG_HUGE, "huge page" )					\
 	EM ( MF_MSG_FREE_HUGE, "free huge page" )			\
+	EM ( MF_MSG_NON_PMD_HUGE, "non-pmd-sized huge page" )		\
 	EM ( MF_MSG_UNMAP_FAILED, "unmapping failed page" )		\
 	EM ( MF_MSG_DIRTY_SWAPCACHE, "dirty swapcache page" )		\
 	EM ( MF_MSG_CLEAN_SWAPCACHE, "clean swapcache page" )		\
@@ -373,6 +374,8 @@  TRACE_EVENT(aer_event,
 	EM ( MF_MSG_TRUNCATED_LRU, "already truncated LRU page" )	\
 	EM ( MF_MSG_BUDDY, "free buddy page" )				\
 	EM ( MF_MSG_BUDDY_2ND, "free buddy page (2nd try)" )		\
+	EM ( MF_MSG_DAX, "dax page" )					\
+	EM ( MF_MSG_UNSPLIT_THP, "unsplit thp" )			\
 	EMe ( MF_MSG_UNKNOWN, "unknown page" )
 
 /*
--- a/mm/memory-failure.c~mmhwpoison-introduce-mf_msg_unsplit_thp
+++ a/mm/memory-failure.c
@@ -582,6 +582,7 @@  static const char * const action_page_ty
 	[MF_MSG_BUDDY]			= "free buddy page",
 	[MF_MSG_BUDDY_2ND]		= "free buddy page (2nd try)",
 	[MF_MSG_DAX]			= "dax page",
+	[MF_MSG_UNSPLIT_THP]		= "unsplit thp",
 	[MF_MSG_UNKNOWN]		= "unknown page",
 };
 
@@ -1370,8 +1371,10 @@  int memory_failure(unsigned long pfn, in
 	}
 
 	if (PageTransHuge(hpage)) {
-		if (try_to_split_thp_page(p, "Memory Failure") < 0)
+		if (try_to_split_thp_page(p, "Memory Failure") < 0) {
+			action_result(pfn, MF_MSG_UNSPLIT_THP, MF_IGNORED);
 			return -EBUSY;
+		}
 		VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(!page_count(p), p);
 	}