diff mbox series

[053/156] mm,hwpoison: double-check page count in __get_any_page()

Message ID 20201016024412.3mTi2uR8k%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series [001/156] device-dax/kmem: fix resource release | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Oct. 16, 2020, 2:44 a.m. UTC
From: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Subject: mm,hwpoison: double-check page count in __get_any_page()

Soft offlining could fail with EIO due to the race condition with hugepage
migration.  This issuse became visible due to the change by previous patch
that makes soft offline handler take page refcount by its own.  We have no
way to directly pin zero refcount page, and the page considered as a zero
refcount page could be allocated just after the first check.

This patch adds the second check to find the race and gives us chance to
handle it more reliably.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200922135650.1634-14-osalvador@suse.de
Signed-off-by: Naoya Horiguchi <naoya.horiguchi@nec.com>
Reported-by: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Aristeu Rozanski <aris@ruivo.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Dmitry Yakunin <zeil@yandex-team.ru>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/memory-failure.c |    6 ++++++
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/memory-failure.c~mmhwpoison-double-check-page-count-in-__get_any_page
+++ a/mm/memory-failure.c
@@ -1707,6 +1707,9 @@  static int __get_any_page(struct page *p
 		} else if (is_free_buddy_page(p)) {
 			pr_info("%s: %#lx free buddy page\n", __func__, pfn);
 			ret = 0;
+		} else if (page_count(p)) {
+			/* raced with allocation */
+			ret = -EBUSY;
 		} else {
 			pr_info("%s: %#lx: unknown zero refcount page type %lx\n",
 				__func__, pfn, p->flags);
@@ -1723,6 +1726,9 @@  static int get_any_page(struct page *pag
 {
 	int ret = __get_any_page(page, pfn, flags);
 
+	if (ret == -EBUSY)
+		ret = __get_any_page(page, pfn, flags);
+
 	if (ret == 1 && !PageHuge(page) &&
 	    !PageLRU(page) && !__PageMovable(page)) {
 		/*