diff mbox series

[064/156] mm/page_isolation: simplify return value of start_isolate_page_range()

Message ID 20201016024457.R1nBxavgt%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series [001/156] device-dax/kmem: fix resource release | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Oct. 16, 2020, 2:44 a.m. UTC
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Subject: mm/page_isolation: simplify return value of start_isolate_page_range()

Callers no longer need the number of isolated pageblocks.  Let's simplify.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200819175957.28465-7-david@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@linux.alibaba.com>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Pankaj Gupta <pankaj.gupta.linux@gmail.com>
Cc: Charan Teja Reddy <charante@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Cc: "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/memory_hotplug.c |    2 +-
 mm/page_alloc.c     |    2 +-
 mm/page_isolation.c |    7 ++-----
 3 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/memory_hotplug.c~mm-page_isolation-simplify-return-value-of-start_isolate_page_range
+++ a/mm/memory_hotplug.c
@@ -1514,7 +1514,7 @@  int __ref offline_pages(unsigned long st
 	ret = start_isolate_page_range(start_pfn, end_pfn,
 				       MIGRATE_MOVABLE,
 				       MEMORY_OFFLINE | REPORT_FAILURE);
-	if (ret < 0) {
+	if (ret) {
 		reason = "failure to isolate range";
 		goto failed_removal;
 	}
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c~mm-page_isolation-simplify-return-value-of-start_isolate_page_range
+++ a/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -8468,7 +8468,7 @@  int alloc_contig_range(unsigned long sta
 
 	ret = start_isolate_page_range(pfn_max_align_down(start),
 				       pfn_max_align_up(end), migratetype, 0);
-	if (ret < 0)
+	if (ret)
 		return ret;
 
 	/*
--- a/mm/page_isolation.c~mm-page_isolation-simplify-return-value-of-start_isolate_page_range
+++ a/mm/page_isolation.c
@@ -173,8 +173,7 @@  __first_valid_page(unsigned long pfn, un
  * (e.g. __offline_pages will need to call it after check for isolated range for
  * a next retry).
  *
- * Return: the number of isolated pageblocks on success and -EBUSY if any part
- * of range cannot be isolated.
+ * Return: 0 on success and -EBUSY if any part of range cannot be isolated.
  */
 int start_isolate_page_range(unsigned long start_pfn, unsigned long end_pfn,
 			     unsigned migratetype, int flags)
@@ -182,7 +181,6 @@  int start_isolate_page_range(unsigned lo
 	unsigned long pfn;
 	unsigned long undo_pfn;
 	struct page *page;
-	int nr_isolate_pageblock = 0;
 
 	BUG_ON(!IS_ALIGNED(start_pfn, pageblock_nr_pages));
 	BUG_ON(!IS_ALIGNED(end_pfn, pageblock_nr_pages));
@@ -196,10 +194,9 @@  int start_isolate_page_range(unsigned lo
 				undo_pfn = pfn;
 				goto undo;
 			}
-			nr_isolate_pageblock++;
 		}
 	}
-	return nr_isolate_pageblock;
+	return 0;
 undo:
 	for (pfn = start_pfn;
 	     pfn < undo_pfn;