diff mbox series

[070/156] kernel/resource: move and rename IORESOURCE_MEM_DRIVER_MANAGED

Message ID 20201016024525.fscfh30JU%akpm@linux-foundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series [001/156] device-dax/kmem: fix resource release | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Oct. 16, 2020, 2:45 a.m. UTC
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Subject: kernel/resource: move and rename IORESOURCE_MEM_DRIVER_MANAGED

IORESOURCE_MEM_DRIVER_MANAGED currently uses an unused PnP bit, which is
always set to 0 by hardware.  This is far from beautiful (and confusing),
and the bit only applies to SYSRAM.  So let's move it out of the
bus-specific (PnP) defined bits.

We'll add another SYSRAM specific bit soon.  If we ever need more bits for
other purposes, we can steal some from "desc", or reshuffle/regroup what
we have.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200911103459.10306-3-david@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
Cc: Pankaj Gupta <pankaj.gupta.linux@gmail.com>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richardw.yang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@ozlabs.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>
Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Jason Wang <jasowang@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Julien Grall <julien@xen.org>
Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
Cc: Leonardo Bras <leobras.c@gmail.com>
Cc: Libor Pechacek <lpechacek@suse.cz>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Nathan Lynch <nathanl@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: "Oliver O'Halloran" <oohall@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Pingfan Liu <kernelfans@gmail.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Roger Pau Monné <roger.pau@citrix.com>
Cc: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>
Cc: Wei Liu <wei.liu@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/ioport.h |    4 +++-
 kernel/kexec_file.c    |    2 +-
 mm/memory_hotplug.c    |    4 ++--
 3 files changed, 6 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/include/linux/ioport.h~kernel-resource-move-and-rename-ioresource_mem_driver_managed
+++ a/include/linux/ioport.h
@@ -58,6 +58,9 @@  struct resource {
 #define IORESOURCE_EXT_TYPE_BITS 0x01000000	/* Resource extended types */
 #define IORESOURCE_SYSRAM	0x01000000	/* System RAM (modifier) */
 
+/* IORESOURCE_SYSRAM specific bits. */
+#define IORESOURCE_SYSRAM_DRIVER_MANAGED	0x02000000 /* Always detected via a driver. */
+
 #define IORESOURCE_EXCLUSIVE	0x08000000	/* Userland may not map this resource */
 
 #define IORESOURCE_DISABLED	0x10000000
@@ -103,7 +106,6 @@  struct resource {
 #define IORESOURCE_MEM_32BIT		(3<<3)
 #define IORESOURCE_MEM_SHADOWABLE	(1<<5)	/* dup: IORESOURCE_SHADOWABLE */
 #define IORESOURCE_MEM_EXPANSIONROM	(1<<6)
-#define IORESOURCE_MEM_DRIVER_MANAGED	(1<<7)
 
 /* PnP I/O specific bits (IORESOURCE_BITS) */
 #define IORESOURCE_IO_16BIT_ADDR	(1<<0)
--- a/kernel/kexec_file.c~kernel-resource-move-and-rename-ioresource_mem_driver_managed
+++ a/kernel/kexec_file.c
@@ -521,7 +521,7 @@  static int locate_mem_hole_callback(stru
 	/* Returning 0 will take to next memory range */
 
 	/* Don't use memory that will be detected and handled by a driver. */
-	if (res->flags & IORESOURCE_MEM_DRIVER_MANAGED)
+	if (res->flags & IORESOURCE_SYSRAM_DRIVER_MANAGED)
 		return 0;
 
 	if (sz < kbuf->memsz)
--- a/mm/memory_hotplug.c~kernel-resource-move-and-rename-ioresource_mem_driver_managed
+++ a/mm/memory_hotplug.c
@@ -105,7 +105,7 @@  static struct resource *register_memory_
 	unsigned long flags =  IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM | IORESOURCE_BUSY;
 
 	if (strcmp(resource_name, "System RAM"))
-		flags |= IORESOURCE_MEM_DRIVER_MANAGED;
+		flags |= IORESOURCE_SYSRAM_DRIVER_MANAGED;
 
 	/*
 	 * Make sure value parsed from 'mem=' only restricts memory adding
@@ -1161,7 +1161,7 @@  EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(add_memory);
  *
  * For this memory, no entries in /sys/firmware/memmap ("raw firmware-provided
  * memory map") are created. Also, the created memory resource is flagged
- * with IORESOURCE_MEM_DRIVER_MANAGED, so in-kernel users can special-case
+ * with IORESOURCE_SYSRAM_DRIVER_MANAGED, so in-kernel users can special-case
  * this memory as well (esp., not place kexec images onto it).
  *
  * The resource_name (visible via /proc/iomem) has to have the format