diff mbox series

[077/200] x86: mremap speedup - Enable HAVE_MOVE_PUD

Message ID 20201215030740.oGU8cEfZM%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New, archived
Headers show
Series [001/200] kthread: add kthread_work tracepoints | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Dec. 15, 2020, 3:07 a.m. UTC
From: Kalesh Singh <kaleshsingh@google.com>
Subject: x86: mremap speedup - Enable HAVE_MOVE_PUD

HAVE_MOVE_PUD enables remapping pages at the PUD level if both the
source and destination addresses are PUD-aligned.

With HAVE_MOVE_PUD enabled it can be inferred that there is approximately
a 13x improvement in performance on x86. (See data below).

------- Test Results ---------

The following results were obtained using a 5.4 kernel, by remapping
a PUD-aligned, 1GB sized region to a PUD-aligned destination.
The results from 10 iterations of the test are given below:

Total mremap times for 1GB data on x86. All times are in nanoseconds.

Control        HAVE_MOVE_PUD

180394         15089
235728         14056
238931         25741
187330         13838
241742         14187
177925         14778
182758         14728
160872         14418
205813         15107
245722         13998

205721.5       15594    <-- Mean time in nanoseconds

A 1GB mremap completion time drops from ~205 microseconds
to ~15 microseconds on x86. (~13x speed up).

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201014005320.2233162-6-kaleshsingh@google.com
Signed-off-by: Kalesh Singh <kaleshsingh@google.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Acked-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Cc: Gavin Shan <gshan@redhat.com>
Cc: Hassan Naveed <hnaveed@wavecomp.com>
Cc: Jia He <justin.he@arm.com>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>
Cc: Lokesh Gidra <lokeshgidra@google.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>
Cc: Mina Almasry <almasrymina@google.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@google.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
Cc: Ram Pai <linuxram@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>
Cc: Sandipan Das <sandipan@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: SeongJae Park <sjpark@amazon.de>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>
Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Zi Yan <ziy@nvidia.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/x86/Kconfig |    1 +
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig~x86-mremap-speedup-enable-have_move_pud
+++ a/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -199,6 +199,7 @@  config X86
 	select HAVE_MIXED_BREAKPOINTS_REGS
 	select HAVE_MOD_ARCH_SPECIFIC
 	select HAVE_MOVE_PMD
+	select HAVE_MOVE_PUD
 	select HAVE_NMI
 	select HAVE_OPROFILE
 	select HAVE_OPTPROBES