diff mbox series

[091/200] mm: extract might_alloc() debug check

Message ID 20201215030834.zDHeIyVGK%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New, archived
Headers show
Series [001/200] kthread: add kthread_work tracepoints | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Dec. 15, 2020, 3:08 a.m. UTC
From: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Subject: mm: extract might_alloc() debug check

Extracted from slab.h, which seems to have the most complete version
including the correct might_sleep() check.  Roll it out to slob.c.

Motivated by a discussion with Paul about possibly changing call_rcu
behaviour to allocate memory, but only roughly every 500th call.

There are a lot fewer places in the kernel that care about whether
allocating memory is allowed or not (due to deadlocks with reclaim code)
than places that care whether sleeping is allowed.  But debugging these
also tends to be a lot harder, so nice descriptive checks could come in
handy.  I might have some use eventually for annotations in drivers/gpu.

Note that unlike fs_reclaim_acquire/release gfpflags_allow_blocking does
not consult the PF_MEMALLOC flags.  But there is no flag equivalent for
GFP_NOWAIT, hence this check can't go wrong due to
memalloc_no*_save/restore contexts.  Willy is working on a patch series
which might change this:

https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/20200625113122.7540-7-willy@infradead.org/

I think best would be if that updates gfpflags_allow_blocking(), since
there's a ton of callers all over the place for that already.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201125162532.1299794-3-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch
Signed-off-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Acked-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@nvidia.com>
Cc. Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@kernel.org>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Hellström (Intel) <thomas_os@shipmail.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/sched/mm.h |   16 ++++++++++++++++
 mm/slab.h                |    5 +----
 mm/slob.c                |    6 ++----
 3 files changed, 19 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/include/linux/sched/mm.h~mm-extract-might_alloc-debug-check
+++ a/include/linux/sched/mm.h
@@ -181,6 +181,22 @@  static inline void fs_reclaim_release(gf
 #endif
 
 /**
+ * might_alloc - Mark possible allocation sites
+ * @gfp_mask: gfp_t flags that would be used to allocate
+ *
+ * Similar to might_sleep() and other annotations, this can be used in functions
+ * that might allocate, but often don't. Compiles to nothing without
+ * CONFIG_LOCKDEP. Includes a conditional might_sleep() if @gfp allows blocking.
+ */
+static inline void might_alloc(gfp_t gfp_mask)
+{
+	fs_reclaim_acquire(gfp_mask);
+	fs_reclaim_release(gfp_mask);
+
+	might_sleep_if(gfpflags_allow_blocking(gfp_mask));
+}
+
+/**
  * memalloc_noio_save - Marks implicit GFP_NOIO allocation scope.
  *
  * This functions marks the beginning of the GFP_NOIO allocation scope.
--- a/mm/slab.h~mm-extract-might_alloc-debug-check
+++ a/mm/slab.h
@@ -510,10 +510,7 @@  static inline struct kmem_cache *slab_pr
 {
 	flags &= gfp_allowed_mask;
 
-	fs_reclaim_acquire(flags);
-	fs_reclaim_release(flags);
-
-	might_sleep_if(gfpflags_allow_blocking(flags));
+	might_alloc(flags);
 
 	if (should_failslab(s, flags))
 		return NULL;
--- a/mm/slob.c~mm-extract-might_alloc-debug-check
+++ a/mm/slob.c
@@ -474,8 +474,7 @@  __do_kmalloc_node(size_t size, gfp_t gfp
 
 	gfp &= gfp_allowed_mask;
 
-	fs_reclaim_acquire(gfp);
-	fs_reclaim_release(gfp);
+	might_alloc(gfp);
 
 	if (size < PAGE_SIZE - minalign) {
 		int align = minalign;
@@ -597,8 +596,7 @@  static void *slob_alloc_node(struct kmem
 
 	flags &= gfp_allowed_mask;
 
-	fs_reclaim_acquire(flags);
-	fs_reclaim_release(flags);
+	might_alloc(flags);
 
 	if (c->size < PAGE_SIZE) {
 		b = slob_alloc(c->size, flags, c->align, node, 0);