diff mbox series

[112/200] ia64: make SPARSEMEM default and disable DISCONTIGMEM

Message ID 20201215030951.N7nRi9IU0%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New, archived
Headers show
Series [001/200] kthread: add kthread_work tracepoints | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Dec. 15, 2020, 3:09 a.m. UTC
From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Subject: ia64: make SPARSEMEM default and disable DISCONTIGMEM

SPARSEMEM memory model suitable for systems with large holes in their
phyiscal memory layout. With SPARSEMEM_VMEMMAP enabled it provides
pfn_to_page() and page_to_pfn() as fast as FLATMEM.

Make it the default memory model for IA-64 and disable DISCONTIGMEM which
is considered obsolete for quite some time.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201101170454.9567-8-rppt@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
Cc: Meelis Roos <mroos@linux.ee>
Cc: Michael Schmitz <schmitzmic@gmail.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/ia64/Kconfig |    6 +++---
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/arch/ia64/Kconfig~ia64-make-sparsemem-default-and-disable-discontigmem
+++ a/arch/ia64/Kconfig
@@ -288,6 +288,7 @@  config ARCH_SELECT_MEMORY_MODEL
 
 config ARCH_DISCONTIGMEM_ENABLE
 	def_bool y
+	depends on BROKEN
 	help
 	  Say Y to support efficient handling of discontiguous physical memory,
 	  for architectures which are either NUMA (Non-Uniform Memory Access)
@@ -299,12 +300,11 @@  config ARCH_FLATMEM_ENABLE
 
 config ARCH_SPARSEMEM_ENABLE
 	def_bool y
-	depends on ARCH_DISCONTIGMEM_ENABLE
 	select SPARSEMEM_VMEMMAP_ENABLE
 
-config ARCH_DISCONTIGMEM_DEFAULT
+config ARCH_SPARSEMEM_DEFAULT
 	def_bool y
-	depends on ARCH_DISCONTIGMEM_ENABLE
+	depends on ARCH_SPARSEMEM_ENABLE
 
 config NUMA
 	bool "NUMA support"