diff mbox series

[120/200] PM: hibernate: make direct map manipulations more explicit

Message ID 20201215031025.-RTbrMHpo%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New, archived
Headers show
Series [001/200] kthread: add kthread_work tracepoints | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Dec. 15, 2020, 3:10 a.m. UTC
From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Subject: PM: hibernate: make direct map manipulations more explicit

When DEBUG_PAGEALLOC or ARCH_HAS_SET_DIRECT_MAP is enabled a page may be
not present in the direct map and has to be explicitly mapped before it
could be copied.

Introduce hibernate_map_page() and hibernation_unmap_page() that will
explicitly use set_direct_map_{default,invalid}_noflush() for
ARCH_HAS_SET_DIRECT_MAP case and debug_pagealloc_{map,unmap}_pages() for
DEBUG_PAGEALLOC case.

The remapping of the pages in safe_copy_page() presumes that it only
changes protection bits in an existing PTE and so it is safe to ignore
return value of set_direct_map_{default,invalid}_noflush().

Still, add a pr_warn() so that future changes in set_memory APIs will not
silently break hibernation.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20201109192128.960-3-rppt@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: "Edgecombe, Rick P" <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/mm.h      |   12 ------------
 kernel/power/snapshot.c |   38 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++--
 2 files changed, 36 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/include/linux/mm.h~pm-hibernate-make-direct-map-manipulations-more-explicit
+++ a/include/linux/mm.h
@@ -2934,16 +2934,6 @@  static inline bool debug_pagealloc_enabl
 #if defined(CONFIG_DEBUG_PAGEALLOC) || defined(CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_SET_DIRECT_MAP)
 extern void __kernel_map_pages(struct page *page, int numpages, int enable);
 
-/*
- * When called in DEBUG_PAGEALLOC context, the call should most likely be
- * guarded by debug_pagealloc_enabled() or debug_pagealloc_enabled_static()
- */
-static inline void
-kernel_map_pages(struct page *page, int numpages, int enable)
-{
-	__kernel_map_pages(page, numpages, enable);
-}
-
 static inline void debug_pagealloc_map_pages(struct page *page, int numpages)
 {
 	if (debug_pagealloc_enabled_static())
@@ -2960,8 +2950,6 @@  static inline void debug_pagealloc_unmap
 extern bool kernel_page_present(struct page *page);
 #endif	/* CONFIG_HIBERNATION */
 #else	/* CONFIG_DEBUG_PAGEALLOC || CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_SET_DIRECT_MAP */
-static inline void
-kernel_map_pages(struct page *page, int numpages, int enable) {}
 static inline void debug_pagealloc_map_pages(struct page *page, int numpages) {}
 static inline void debug_pagealloc_unmap_pages(struct page *page, int numpages) {}
 #ifdef CONFIG_HIBERNATION
--- a/kernel/power/snapshot.c~pm-hibernate-make-direct-map-manipulations-more-explicit
+++ a/kernel/power/snapshot.c
@@ -76,6 +76,40 @@  static inline void hibernate_restore_pro
 static inline void hibernate_restore_unprotect_page(void *page_address) {}
 #endif /* CONFIG_STRICT_KERNEL_RWX  && CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_SET_MEMORY */
 
+
+/*
+ * The calls to set_direct_map_*() should not fail because remapping a page
+ * here means that we only update protection bits in an existing PTE.
+ * It is still worth to have a warning here if something changes and this
+ * will no longer be the case.
+ */
+static inline void hibernate_map_page(struct page *page)
+{
+	if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_SET_DIRECT_MAP)) {
+		int ret = set_direct_map_default_noflush(page);
+
+		if (ret)
+			pr_warn_once("Failed to remap page\n");
+	} else {
+		debug_pagealloc_map_pages(page, 1);
+	}
+}
+
+static inline void hibernate_unmap_page(struct page *page)
+{
+	if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_SET_DIRECT_MAP)) {
+		unsigned long addr = (unsigned long)page_address(page);
+		int ret  = set_direct_map_invalid_noflush(page);
+
+		if (ret)
+			pr_warn_once("Failed to remap page\n");
+
+		flush_tlb_kernel_range(addr, addr + PAGE_SIZE);
+	} else {
+		debug_pagealloc_unmap_pages(page, 1);
+	}
+}
+
 static int swsusp_page_is_free(struct page *);
 static void swsusp_set_page_forbidden(struct page *);
 static void swsusp_unset_page_forbidden(struct page *);
@@ -1355,9 +1389,9 @@  static void safe_copy_page(void *dst, st
 	if (kernel_page_present(s_page)) {
 		do_copy_page(dst, page_address(s_page));
 	} else {
-		kernel_map_pages(s_page, 1, 1);
+		hibernate_map_page(s_page);
 		do_copy_page(dst, page_address(s_page));
-		kernel_map_pages(s_page, 1, 0);
+		hibernate_unmap_page(s_page);
 	}
 }