diff mbox series

[06/19] mm/rmap: stop store reordering issue on page->mapping

Message ID 20201215203342.X_2LUvA2i%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New, archived
Headers show
Series [01/19] mm/thp: move lru_add_page_tail() to huge_memory.c | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Dec. 15, 2020, 8:33 p.m. UTC
From: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Subject: mm/rmap: stop store reordering issue on page->mapping

Hugh Dickins and Minchan Kim observed a long time issue which discussed
here, but actully the mentioned fix missed. 
https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20150504031722.GA2768@blaptop/ The store
reordering may cause problem in the scenario:

	CPU 0						CPU1
   do_anonymous_page
	page_add_new_anon_rmap()
	  page->mapping = anon_vma + PAGE_MAPPING_ANON
	lru_cache_add_inactive_or_unevictable()
	  spin_lock(lruvec->lock)
	  SetPageLRU()
	  spin_unlock(lruvec->lock)
						/* idletacking judged it as LRU
						 * page so pass the page in
						 * page_idle_clear_pte_refs
						 */
						page_idle_clear_pte_refs
						  rmap_walk
						    if PageAnon(page)

Johannes give detailed examples how the store reordering could cause a
trouble: "The concern is the SetPageLRU may get reorder before
'page->mapping' setting, That would make CPU 1 will observe at
page->mapping after observing PageLRU set on the page.

1. anon_vma + PAGE_MAPPING_ANON

   That's the in-order scenario and is fine.

2. NULL

   That's possible if the page->mapping store gets reordered to occur
   after SetPageLRU. That's fine too because we check for it.

3. anon_vma without the PAGE_MAPPING_ANON bit

   That would be a problem and could lead to all kinds of undesirable
   behavior including crashes and data corruption.

   Is it possible? AFAICT the compiler is allowed to tear the store to
   page->mapping and I don't see anything that would prevent it.

That said, I also don't see how the reader testing PageLRU under the
lru_lock would prevent that in the first place.  AFAICT we need that
WRITE_ONCE() around the page->mapping assignment."

[alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com: updated for comments change from Johannes]
  Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/e66ef2e5-c74c-6498-e8b3-56c37b9d2d15@linux.alibaba.com
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1604566549-62481-7-git-send-email-alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com
Signed-off-by: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Acked-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov.dev@gmail.com>
Cc: Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: "Chen, Rong A" <rong.a.chen@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>
Cc: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Mika Penttilä <mika.penttila@nextfour.com>
Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>
Cc: Yang Shi <yang.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/rmap.c |    8 +++++++-
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/rmap.c~mm-rmap-stop-store-reordering-issue-on-page-mapping
+++ a/mm/rmap.c
@@ -1054,8 +1054,14 @@  static void __page_set_anon_rmap(struct
 	if (!exclusive)
 		anon_vma = anon_vma->root;
 
+	/*
+	 * page_idle does a lockless/optimistic rmap scan on page->mapping.
+	 * Make sure the compiler doesn't split the stores of anon_vma and
+	 * the PAGE_MAPPING_ANON type identifier, otherwise the rmap code
+	 * could mistake the mapping for a struct address_space and crash.
+	 */
 	anon_vma = (void *) anon_vma + PAGE_MAPPING_ANON;
-	page->mapping = (struct address_space *) anon_vma;
+	WRITE_ONCE(page->mapping, (struct address_space *) anon_vma);
 	page->index = linear_page_index(vma, address);
 }