diff mbox series

[045/118] mm/rmap: fix potential pte_unmap on an not mapped pte

Message ID 20210226011809.ybM2-WPA7%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/118] mm: make pagecache tagged lookups return only head pages | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Feb. 26, 2021, 1:18 a.m. UTC
From: Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@huawei.com>
Subject: mm/rmap: fix potential pte_unmap on an not mapped pte

For PMD-mapped page (usually THP), pvmw->pte is NULL.  For PTE-mapped THP,
pvmw->pte is mapped.  But for HugeTLB pages, pvmw->pte is not mapped and
set to the relevant page table entry.  So in page_vma_mapped_walk_done(),
we may do pte_unmap() for HugeTLB pte which is not mapped.  Fix this by
checking pvmw->page against PageHuge before trying to do pte_unmap().

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210127093349.39081-1-linmiaohe@huawei.com
Fixes: ace71a19cec5 ("mm: introduce page_vma_mapped_walk()")
Signed-off-by: Hongxiang Lou <louhongxiang@huawei.com>
Signed-off-by: Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@huawei.com>
Tested-by: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@linux.alibaba.com>
Cc: Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>
Cc: Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 include/linux/rmap.h |    3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/include/linux/rmap.h~mm-rmap-fix-potential-pte_unmap-on-an-not-mapped-pte
+++ a/include/linux/rmap.h
@@ -213,7 +213,8 @@  struct page_vma_mapped_walk {
 
 static inline void page_vma_mapped_walk_done(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw)
 {
-	if (pvmw->pte)
+	/* HugeTLB pte is set to the relevant page table entry without pte_mapped. */
+	if (pvmw->pte && !PageHuge(pvmw->page))
 		pte_unmap(pvmw->pte);
 	if (pvmw->ptl)
 		spin_unlock(pvmw->ptl);