diff mbox series

[072/118] kasan: optimize large kmalloc poisoning

Message ID 20210226012003.btZy_td4U%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/118] mm: make pagecache tagged lookups return only head pages | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton Feb. 26, 2021, 1:20 a.m. UTC
From: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
Subject: kasan: optimize large kmalloc poisoning

Similarly to kasan_kmalloc(), kasan_kmalloc_large() doesn't need to
unpoison the object as it as already unpoisoned by alloc_pages() (or by
ksize() for krealloc()).

This patch changes kasan_kmalloc_large() to only poison the redzone.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/33dee5aac0e550ad7f8e26f590c9b02c6129b4a3.1612546384.git.andreyknvl@google.com
Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Marco Elver <elver@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Branislav Rankov <Branislav.Rankov@arm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Evgenii Stepanov <eugenis@google.com>
Cc: Kevin Brodsky <kevin.brodsky@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com>
Cc: Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/kasan/common.c |   20 +++++++++++++++-----
 1 file changed, 15 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/kasan/common.c~kasan-optimize-large-kmalloc-poisoning
+++ a/mm/kasan/common.c
@@ -494,7 +494,6 @@  EXPORT_SYMBOL(__kasan_kmalloc);
 void * __must_check __kasan_kmalloc_large(const void *ptr, size_t size,
 						gfp_t flags)
 {
-	struct page *page;
 	unsigned long redzone_start;
 	unsigned long redzone_end;
 
@@ -504,12 +503,23 @@  void * __must_check __kasan_kmalloc_larg
 	if (unlikely(ptr == NULL))
 		return NULL;
 
-	page = virt_to_page(ptr);
+	/*
+	 * The object has already been unpoisoned by kasan_alloc_pages() for
+	 * alloc_pages() or by ksize() for krealloc().
+	 */
+
+	/*
+	 * The redzone has byte-level precision for the generic mode.
+	 * Partially poison the last object granule to cover the unaligned
+	 * part of the redzone.
+	 */
+	if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_KASAN_GENERIC))
+		kasan_poison_last_granule(ptr, size);
+
+	/* Poison the aligned part of the redzone. */
 	redzone_start = round_up((unsigned long)(ptr + size),
 				KASAN_GRANULE_SIZE);
-	redzone_end = (unsigned long)ptr + page_size(page);
-
-	kasan_unpoison(ptr, size);
+	redzone_end = (unsigned long)ptr + page_size(virt_to_page(ptr));
 	kasan_poison((void *)redzone_start, redzone_end - redzone_start,
 		     KASAN_PAGE_REDZONE);