diff mbox series

[023/178] watchdog: explicitly update timestamp when reporting softlockup

Message ID 20210430055423.pnd2rwY-w%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/178] arch/ia64/kernel/head.S: remove duplicate include | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton April 30, 2021, 5:54 a.m. UTC
From: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Subject: watchdog: explicitly update timestamp when reporting softlockup

The softlockup situation might stay for a long time or even forever.  When
it happens, the softlockup debug messages are printed in regular intervals
defined by get_softlockup_thresh().

There is a mystery.  The repeated message is printed after the full
interval that is defined by get_softlockup_thresh().  But the timer
callback is called more often as defined by sample_period.  The code looks
like the soflockup should get reported in every sample_period when it was
once behind the thresh.

It works only by chance.  The watchdog is touched when printing the stall
report, for example, in printk_stack_address().

Make the behavior clear and predictable by explicitly updating the
timestamp in watchdog_timer_fn() when the report gets printed.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210311122130.6788-3-pmladek@suse.com
Signed-off-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Laurence Oberman <loberman@redhat.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vincent Whitchurch <vincent.whitchurch@axis.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 kernel/watchdog.c |    3 +++
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/kernel/watchdog.c~watchdog-explicitly-update-timestamp-when-reporting-softlockup
+++ a/kernel/watchdog.c
@@ -410,6 +410,9 @@  static enum hrtimer_restart watchdog_tim
 			}
 		}
 
+		/* Start period for the next softlockup warning. */
+		update_touch_ts();
+
 		pr_emerg("BUG: soft lockup - CPU#%d stuck for %us! [%s:%d]\n",
 			smp_processor_id(), duration,
 			current->comm, task_pid_nr(current));