diff mbox series

[170/178] mm/page_alloc: inline __rmqueue_pcplist

Message ID 20210430060155.8Nx4d1A9w%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/178] arch/ia64/kernel/head.S: remove duplicate include | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton April 30, 2021, 6:01 a.m. UTC
From: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com>
Subject: mm/page_alloc: inline __rmqueue_pcplist

When __alloc_pages_bulk() got introduced two callers of __rmqueue_pcplist
exist and the compiler chooses to not inline this function.

 ./scripts/bloat-o-meter vmlinux-before vmlinux-inline__rmqueue_pcplist
add/remove: 0/1 grow/shrink: 2/0 up/down: 164/-125 (39)
Function                                     old     new   delta
rmqueue                                     2197    2296     +99
__alloc_pages_bulk                          1921    1986     +65
__rmqueue_pcplist                            125       -    -125
Total: Before=19374127, After=19374166, chg +0.00%

modprobe page_bench04_bulk loops=$((10**7))

Type:time_bulk_page_alloc_free_array
 -  Per elem: 106 cycles(tsc) 29.595 ns (step:64)
 - (measurement period time:0.295955434 sec time_interval:295955434)
 - (invoke count:10000000 tsc_interval:1065447105)

Before:
 - Per elem: 110 cycles(tsc) 30.633 ns (step:64)

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210325114228.27719-6-mgorman@techsingularity.net
Signed-off-by: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Reviewed-by: Alexander Lobakin <alobakin@pm.me>
Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Alexander Duyck <alexander.duyck@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Chuck Lever <chuck.lever@oracle.com>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Ilias Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox (Oracle) <willy@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/page_alloc.c |    3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/page_alloc.c~mm-page_alloc-inline-__rmqueue_pcplist
+++ a/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -3456,7 +3456,8 @@  static inline void zone_statistics(struc
 }
 
 /* Remove page from the per-cpu list, caller must protect the list */
-static struct page *__rmqueue_pcplist(struct zone *zone, int migratetype,
+static inline
+struct page *__rmqueue_pcplist(struct zone *zone, int migratetype,
 			unsigned int alloc_flags,
 			struct per_cpu_pages *pcp,
 			struct list_head *list)