diff mbox series

[102/143] mm: generalize ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE

Message ID 20210505013809.rjHdQkSaU%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/143] mm: introduce and use mapping_empty() | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 5, 2021, 1:38 a.m. UTC
From: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Subject: mm: generalize ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE

Patch series "mm: some config cleanups", v2.

This series contains config cleanup patches which reduces code duplication
across platforms and also improves maintainability. There is no functional
change intended with this series.


This patch (of 6):

ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE config has duplicate definitions on platforms
that subscribe it.  Instead, just make it a generic option which can be
selected on applicable platforms.  This change reduces code duplication
and makes it cleaner.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1617259448-22529-1-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1617259448-22529-2-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>	[arm64]
Acked-by: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>		[arc]
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmerdabbelt@google.com>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/arc/Kconfig   |    4 +---
 arch/arm64/Kconfig |    4 +---
 arch/x86/Kconfig   |    4 +---
 mm/Kconfig         |    3 +++
 4 files changed, 6 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/arch/arc/Kconfig~mm-generalize-arch_has_cache_line_size
+++ a/arch/arc/Kconfig
@@ -6,6 +6,7 @@ 
 config ARC
 	def_bool y
 	select ARC_TIMERS
+	select ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE
 	select ARCH_HAS_DMA_PREP_COHERENT
 	select ARCH_HAS_PTE_SPECIAL
@@ -48,9 +49,6 @@  config ARC
 	select HAVE_ARCH_JUMP_LABEL if ISA_ARCV2 && !CPU_ENDIAN_BE32
 	select SET_FS
 
-config ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
-	def_bool y
-
 config TRACE_IRQFLAGS_SUPPORT
 	def_bool y
 
--- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig~mm-generalize-arch_has_cache_line_size
+++ a/arch/arm64/Kconfig
@@ -11,6 +11,7 @@  config ARM64
 	select ACPI_PPTT if ACPI
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_WX
 	select ARCH_BINFMT_ELF_STATE
+	select ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VIRTUAL
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE
 	select ARCH_HAS_DMA_PREP_COHERENT
@@ -1074,9 +1075,6 @@  config HW_PERF_EVENTS
 config SYS_SUPPORTS_HUGETLBFS
 	def_bool y
 
-config ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
-	def_bool y
-
 config ARCH_HAS_FILTER_PGPROT
 	def_bool y
 
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig~mm-generalize-arch_has_cache_line_size
+++ a/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -61,6 +61,7 @@  config X86
 	select ARCH_32BIT_OFF_T			if X86_32
 	select ARCH_CLOCKSOURCE_INIT
 	select ARCH_HAS_ACPI_TABLE_UPGRADE	if ACPI
+	select ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VIRTUAL
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE	if !X86_PAE
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEVMEM_IS_ALLOWED
@@ -316,9 +317,6 @@  config GENERIC_CALIBRATE_DELAY
 config ARCH_HAS_CPU_RELAX
 	def_bool y
 
-config ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
-	def_bool y
-
 config ARCH_HAS_FILTER_PGPROT
 	def_bool y
 
--- a/mm/Kconfig~mm-generalize-arch_has_cache_line_size
+++ a/mm/Kconfig
@@ -772,6 +772,9 @@  config IDLE_PAGE_TRACKING
 	  See Documentation/admin-guide/mm/idle_page_tracking.rst for
 	  more details.
 
+config ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
+	bool
+
 config ARCH_HAS_PTE_DEVMAP
 	bool