diff mbox series

[105/143] mm: drop redundant ARCH_ENABLE_[HUGEPAGE|THP]_MIGRATION

Message ID 20210505013821.9eAhYOAPV%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/143] mm: introduce and use mapping_empty() | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 5, 2021, 1:38 a.m. UTC
From: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Subject: mm: drop redundant ARCH_ENABLE_[HUGEPAGE|THP]_MIGRATION

ARCH_ENABLE_[HUGEPAGE|THP]_MIGRATION configs have duplicate definitions on
platforms that subscribe them.  Drop these reduntant definitions and
instead just select them appropriately.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: s/x86_64/X86_64/, per Oscar]
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1617259448-22529-5-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>	[arm64]
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <James.Bottomley@HansenPartnership.com>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmerdabbelt@google.com>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 arch/arm64/Kconfig                     |   10 ++--------
 arch/powerpc/platforms/Kconfig.cputype |    5 +----
 arch/x86/Kconfig                       |   10 ++--------
 3 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 20 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/arch/arm64/Kconfig~mm-drop-redundant-arch_enable__migration
+++ a/arch/arm64/Kconfig
@@ -11,8 +11,10 @@  config ARM64
 	select ACPI_PPTT if ACPI
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_WX
 	select ARCH_BINFMT_ELF_STATE
+	select ARCH_ENABLE_HUGEPAGE_MIGRATION if HUGETLB_PAGE && MIGRATION
 	select ARCH_ENABLE_MEMORY_HOTPLUG
 	select ARCH_ENABLE_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE
+	select ARCH_ENABLE_THP_MIGRATION if TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
 	select ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VIRTUAL
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE
@@ -1916,14 +1918,6 @@  config SYSVIPC_COMPAT
 	def_bool y
 	depends on COMPAT && SYSVIPC
 
-config ARCH_ENABLE_HUGEPAGE_MIGRATION
-	def_bool y
-	depends on HUGETLB_PAGE && MIGRATION
-
-config ARCH_ENABLE_THP_MIGRATION
-	def_bool y
-	depends on TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
-
 menu "Power management options"
 
 source "kernel/power/Kconfig"
--- a/arch/powerpc/platforms/Kconfig.cputype~mm-drop-redundant-arch_enable__migration
+++ a/arch/powerpc/platforms/Kconfig.cputype
@@ -96,6 +96,7 @@  config PPC_BOOK3S_64
 	select PPC_FPU
 	select PPC_HAVE_PMU_SUPPORT
 	select HAVE_ARCH_TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
+	select ARCH_ENABLE_HUGEPAGE_MIGRATION if HUGETLB_PAGE && MIGRATION
 	select ARCH_ENABLE_THP_MIGRATION if TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
 	select ARCH_SUPPORTS_HUGETLBFS
 	select ARCH_SUPPORTS_NUMA_BALANCING
@@ -420,10 +421,6 @@  config PPC_PKEY
 	depends on PPC_BOOK3S_64
 	depends on PPC_MEM_KEYS || PPC_KUAP || PPC_KUEP
 
-config ARCH_ENABLE_HUGEPAGE_MIGRATION
-	def_bool y
-	depends on PPC_BOOK3S_64 && HUGETLB_PAGE && MIGRATION
-
 
 config PPC_MMU_NOHASH
 	def_bool y
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig~mm-drop-redundant-arch_enable__migration
+++ a/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -60,8 +60,10 @@  config X86
 	select ACPI_SYSTEM_POWER_STATES_SUPPORT	if ACPI
 	select ARCH_32BIT_OFF_T			if X86_32
 	select ARCH_CLOCKSOURCE_INIT
+	select ARCH_ENABLE_HUGEPAGE_MIGRATION if X86_64 && HUGETLB_PAGE && MIGRATION
 	select ARCH_ENABLE_MEMORY_HOTPLUG if X86_64 || (X86_32 && HIGHMEM)
 	select ARCH_ENABLE_MEMORY_HOTREMOVE if MEMORY_HOTPLUG
+	select ARCH_ENABLE_THP_MIGRATION if X86_64 && TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
 	select ARCH_HAS_ACPI_TABLE_UPGRADE	if ACPI
 	select ARCH_HAS_CACHE_LINE_SIZE
 	select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VIRTUAL
@@ -2437,14 +2439,6 @@  config ARCH_ENABLE_SPLIT_PMD_PTLOCK
 	def_bool y
 	depends on X86_64 || X86_PAE
 
-config ARCH_ENABLE_HUGEPAGE_MIGRATION
-	def_bool y
-	depends on X86_64 && HUGETLB_PAGE && MIGRATION
-
-config ARCH_ENABLE_THP_MIGRATION
-	def_bool y
-	depends on X86_64 && TRANSPARENT_HUGEPAGE
-
 menu "Power management and ACPI options"
 
 config ARCH_HIBERNATION_HEADER