diff mbox series

[119/143] memory-hotplug.rst: add a note about ZONE_MOVABLE and page pinning

Message ID 20210505013912.5XQuMvU8N%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/143] mm: introduce and use mapping_empty() | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 5, 2021, 1:39 a.m. UTC
From: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Subject: memory-hotplug.rst: add a note about ZONE_MOVABLE and page pinning

Document the special handling of page pinning when ZONE_MOVABLE present.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210215161349.246722-11-pasha.tatashin@soleen.com
Signed-off-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Suggested-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Tyler Hicks <tyhicks@linux.microsoft.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 Documentation/admin-guide/mm/memory-hotplug.rst |    9 +++++++++
 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/memory-hotplug.rst~memory-hotplugrst-add-a-note-about-zone_movable-and-page-pinning
+++ a/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/memory-hotplug.rst
@@ -357,6 +357,15 @@  creates ZONE_MOVABLE as following.
    Unfortunately, there is no information to show which memory block belongs
    to ZONE_MOVABLE. This is TBD.
 
+.. note::
+   Techniques that rely on long-term pinnings of memory (especially, RDMA and
+   vfio) are fundamentally problematic with ZONE_MOVABLE and, therefore, memory
+   hot remove. Pinned pages cannot reside on ZONE_MOVABLE, to guarantee that
+   memory can still get hot removed - be aware that pinning can fail even if
+   there is plenty of free memory in ZONE_MOVABLE. In addition, using
+   ZONE_MOVABLE might make page pinning more expensive, because pages have to be
+   migrated off that zone first.
+
 .. _memory_hotplug_how_to_offline_memory:
 
 How to offline memory