diff mbox series

[120/143] mm/gup: change index type to long as it counts pages

Message ID 20210505013915.7YTCmx8Zs%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/143] mm: introduce and use mapping_empty() | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 5, 2021, 1:39 a.m. UTC
From: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Subject: mm/gup: change index type to long as it counts pages

In __get_user_pages_locked() i counts number of pages which should be
long, as long is used in all other places to contain number of pages, and
32-bit becomes increasingly small for handling page count proportional
values.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210215161349.246722-12-pasha.tatashin@soleen.com
Signed-off-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Tyler Hicks <tyhicks@linux.microsoft.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/gup.c |    2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/gup.c~mm-gup-change-index-type-to-long-as-it-counts-pages
+++ a/mm/gup.c
@@ -1528,7 +1528,7 @@  static long __get_user_pages_locked(stru
 {
 	struct vm_area_struct *vma;
 	unsigned long vm_flags;
-	int i;
+	long i;
 
 	/* calculate required read or write permissions.
 	 * If FOLL_FORCE is set, we only require the "MAY" flags.