diff mbox series

[123/143] selftests/vm: gup_test: test faulting in kernel, and verify pinnable pages

Message ID 20210505013927.SoHoPKxa1%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [001/143] mm: introduce and use mapping_empty() | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 5, 2021, 1:39 a.m. UTC
From: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Subject: selftests/vm: gup_test: test faulting in kernel, and verify pinnable pages

When pages are pinned they can be faulted in userland and migrated, and
they can be faulted right in kernel without migration.

In either case, the pinned pages must end-up being pinnable (not movable).

Add a new test to gup_test, to help verify that the gup/pup
(get_user_pages() / pin_user_pages()) behavior with respect to pinnable
and movable pages is reasonable and correct.  Specifically, provide a way
to:

1) Verify that only "pinnable" pages are pinned.  This is checked
   automatically for you.

2) Verify that gup/pup performance is reasonable.  This requires
   comparing benchmarks between doing gup/pup on pages that have been
   pre-faulted in from user space, vs.  doing gup/pup on pages that are
   not faulted in until gup/pup time (via FOLL_TOUCH).  This decision is
   controlled with the new -z command line option.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210215161349.246722-15-pasha.tatashin@soleen.com
Signed-off-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Reviewed-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@nvidia.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Tyler Hicks <tyhicks@linux.microsoft.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 mm/gup_test.c                         |    6 ++++++
 tools/testing/selftests/vm/gup_test.c |   23 +++++++++++++++++++----
 2 files changed, 25 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/mm/gup_test.c~selftests-vm-gup_test-test-faulting-in-kernel-and-verify-pinnable-pages
+++ a/mm/gup_test.c
@@ -52,6 +52,12 @@  static void verify_dma_pinned(unsigned i
 
 				dump_page(page, "gup_test failure");
 				break;
+			} else if (cmd == PIN_LONGTERM_BENCHMARK &&
+				WARN(!is_pinnable_page(page),
+				     "pages[%lu] is NOT pinnable but pinned\n",
+				     i)) {
+				dump_page(page, "gup_test failure");
+				break;
 			}
 		}
 		break;
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/vm/gup_test.c~selftests-vm-gup_test-test-faulting-in-kernel-and-verify-pinnable-pages
+++ a/tools/testing/selftests/vm/gup_test.c
@@ -13,6 +13,7 @@ 
 
 /* Just the flags we need, copied from mm.h: */
 #define FOLL_WRITE	0x01	/* check pte is writable */
+#define FOLL_TOUCH	0x02	/* mark page accessed */
 
 static char *cmd_to_str(unsigned long cmd)
 {
@@ -39,11 +40,11 @@  int main(int argc, char **argv)
 	unsigned long size = 128 * MB;
 	int i, fd, filed, opt, nr_pages = 1, thp = -1, repeats = 1, write = 1;
 	unsigned long cmd = GUP_FAST_BENCHMARK;
-	int flags = MAP_PRIVATE;
+	int flags = MAP_PRIVATE, touch = 0;
 	char *file = "/dev/zero";
 	char *p;
 
-	while ((opt = getopt(argc, argv, "m:r:n:F:f:abctTLUuwWSHp")) != -1) {
+	while ((opt = getopt(argc, argv, "m:r:n:F:f:abctTLUuwWSHpz")) != -1) {
 		switch (opt) {
 		case 'a':
 			cmd = PIN_FAST_BENCHMARK;
@@ -110,6 +111,10 @@  int main(int argc, char **argv)
 		case 'H':
 			flags |= (MAP_HUGETLB | MAP_ANONYMOUS);
 			break;
+		case 'z':
+			/* fault pages in gup, do not fault in userland */
+			touch = 1;
+			break;
 		default:
 			return -1;
 		}
@@ -167,8 +172,18 @@  int main(int argc, char **argv)
 	else if (thp == 0)
 		madvise(p, size, MADV_NOHUGEPAGE);
 
-	for (; (unsigned long)p < gup.addr + size; p += PAGE_SIZE)
-		p[0] = 0;
+	/*
+	 * FOLL_TOUCH, in gup_test, is used as an either/or case: either
+	 * fault pages in from the kernel via FOLL_TOUCH, or fault them
+	 * in here, from user space. This allows comparison of performance
+	 * between those two cases.
+	 */
+	if (touch) {
+		gup.gup_flags |= FOLL_TOUCH;
+	} else {
+		for (; (unsigned long)p < gup.addr + size; p += PAGE_SIZE)
+			p[0] = 0;
+	}
 
 	/* Only report timing information on the *_BENCHMARK commands: */
 	if ((cmd == PIN_FAST_BENCHMARK) || (cmd == GUP_FAST_BENCHMARK) ||