diff mbox series

[14/91] tools: disable -Wno-type-limits

Message ID 20210507010242.ydCofRv4z%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [01/91] alpha: eliminate old-style function definitions | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 7, 2021, 1:02 a.m. UTC
From: Yury Norov <yury.norov@gmail.com>
Subject: tools: disable -Wno-type-limits

Patch series "lib/find_bit: fast path for small bitmaps", v6.

Bitmap operations are much simpler and faster in case of small bitmaps
which fit into a single word.  In linux/bitmap.c we have a machinery that
allows compiler to replace actual function call with a few instructions if
bitmaps passed into the function are small and their size is known at
compile time.

find_*_bit() API lacks this functionality; but users will benefit from it
a lot.  One important example is cpumask subsystem when NR_CPUS <=
BITS_PER_LONG.


This patch (of 12):

GENMASK(h, l) may be passed with unsigned types.  In such case,
type-limits warning is generated for example in case of GENMASK(h, 0).

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210401003153.97325-1-yury.norov@gmail.com
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210401003153.97325-2-yury.norov@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: Yury Norov <yury.norov@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
Cc: Alexey Klimov <aklimov@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Jianpeng Ma <jianpeng.ma@intel.com>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Stefano Brivio <sbrivio@redhat.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@linux.alibaba.com>
Cc: Wolfram Sang <wsa+renesas@sang-engineering.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.osdn.me>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 tools/scripts/Makefile.include |    1 +
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/tools/scripts/Makefile.include~tools-disable-wno-type-limits
+++ a/tools/scripts/Makefile.include
@@ -38,6 +38,7 @@  EXTRA_WARNINGS += -Wswitch-enum
 EXTRA_WARNINGS += -Wundef
 EXTRA_WARNINGS += -Wwrite-strings
 EXTRA_WARNINGS += -Wformat
+EXTRA_WARNINGS += -Wno-type-limits
 
 # Makefiles suck: This macro sets a default value of $(2) for the
 # variable named by $(1), unless the variable has been set by