diff mbox series

[61/91] kernel/resource: make walk_system_ram_res() find all busy IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM resources

Message ID 20210507010512.Ou-MGmhz9%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [01/91] alpha: eliminate old-style function definitions | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 7, 2021, 1:05 a.m. UTC
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Subject: kernel/resource: make walk_system_ram_res() find all busy IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM resources

Patch series "kernel/resource: make walk_system_ram_res() and walk_mem_res() search the whole tree", v2.

Playing with kdump+virtio-mem I noticed that kexec_file_load() does not
consider System RAM added via dax/kmem and virtio-mem when preparing the
elf header for kdump.  Looking into the details, the logic used in
walk_system_ram_res() and walk_mem_res() seems to be outdated.

walk_system_ram_range() already does the right thing, let's change
walk_system_ram_res() and walk_mem_res(), and clean up.

Loading a kdump kernel via "kexec -p -s" ...  will result in the kdump
kernel to also dump dax/kmem and virtio-mem added System RAM now.

Note: kexec-tools on x86-64 also have to be updated to consider this
memory in the kexec_load() case when processing /proc/iomem.


This patch (of 3):

It used to be true that we can have system RAM (IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM |
IORESOURCE_BUSY) only on the first level in the resource tree.  However,
this is no longer holds for driver-managed system RAM (i.e., added via
dax/kmem and virtio-mem), which gets added on lower levels, for example,
inside device containers.

We have two users of walk_system_ram_res(), which currently only
consideres the first level:

a) kernel/kexec_file.c:kexec_walk_resources() -- We properly skip
   IORESOURCE_SYSRAM_DRIVER_MANAGED resources via
   locate_mem_hole_callback(), so even after this change, we won't be
   placing kexec images onto dax/kmem and virtio-mem added memory.  No
   change.

b) arch/x86/kernel/crash.c:fill_up_crash_elf_data() -- we're currently
   not adding relevant ranges to the crash elf header, resulting in them
   not getting dumped via kdump.

This change fixes loading a crashkernel via kexec_file_load() and
including dax/kmem and virtio-mem added System RAM in the crashdump on
x86-64.  Note that e.g,, arm64 relies on memblock data and, therefore,
always considers all added System RAM already.

Let's find all IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM | IORESOURCE_BUSY resources, making
the function behave like walk_system_ram_range().

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210325115326.7826-1-david@redhat.com
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210325115326.7826-2-david@redhat.com
Fixes: ebf71552bb0e ("virtio-mem: Add parent resource for all added "System RAM"")
Fixes: c221c0b0308f ("device-dax: "Hotplug" persistent memory for use like normal RAM")
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Acked-by: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>
Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 kernel/resource.c |    2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/kernel/resource.c~kernel-resource-make-walk_system_ram_res-find-all-busy-ioresource_system_ram-resources
+++ a/kernel/resource.c
@@ -457,7 +457,7 @@  int walk_system_ram_res(u64 start, u64 e
 {
 	unsigned long flags = IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM | IORESOURCE_BUSY;
 
-	return __walk_iomem_res_desc(start, end, flags, IORES_DESC_NONE, true,
+	return __walk_iomem_res_desc(start, end, flags, IORES_DESC_NONE, false,
 				     arg, func);
 }