diff mbox series

[62/91] kernel/resource: make walk_mem_res() find all busy IORESOURCE_MEM resources

Message ID 20210507010516.4st1joI32%akpm@linux-foundation.org (mailing list archive)
State New
Headers show
Series [01/91] alpha: eliminate old-style function definitions | expand

Commit Message

Andrew Morton May 7, 2021, 1:05 a.m. UTC
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Subject: kernel/resource: make walk_mem_res() find all busy IORESOURCE_MEM resources

It used to be true that we can have system RAM (IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM |
IORESOURCE_BUSY) only on the first level in the resource tree.  However,
this is no longer holds for driver-managed system RAM (i.e., added via
dax/kmem and virtio-mem), which gets added on lower levels, for example,
inside device containers.

IORESOURCE_SYSTEM_RAM is defined as IORESOURCE_MEM | IORESOURCE_SYSRAM and
just a special type of IORESOURCE_MEM.

The function walk_mem_res() only considers the first level and is used in
arch/x86/mm/ioremap.c:__ioremap_check_mem() only.  We currently fail to
identify System RAM added by dax/kmem and virtio-mem as
"IORES_MAP_SYSTEM_RAM", for example, allowing for remapping of such
"normal RAM" in __ioremap_caller().

Let's find all IORESOURCE_MEM | IORESOURCE_BUSY resources, making the
function behave similar to walk_system_ram_res().

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210325115326.7826-3-david@redhat.com
Fixes: ebf71552bb0e ("virtio-mem: Add parent resource for all added "System RAM"")
Fixes: c221c0b0308f ("device-dax: "Hotplug" persistent memory for use like normal RAM")
Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>
Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Keith Busch <keith.busch@intel.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 kernel/resource.c |    2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
diff mbox series

Patch

--- a/kernel/resource.c~kernel-resource-make-walk_mem_res-find-all-busy-ioresource_mem-resources
+++ a/kernel/resource.c
@@ -470,7 +470,7 @@  int walk_mem_res(u64 start, u64 end, voi
 {
 	unsigned long flags = IORESOURCE_MEM | IORESOURCE_BUSY;
 
-	return __walk_iomem_res_desc(start, end, flags, IORES_DESC_NONE, true,
+	return __walk_iomem_res_desc(start, end, flags, IORES_DESC_NONE, false,
 				     arg, func);
 }